Core Workout for Runners

Hello All!

Are you ready to get your sweat on this lovely Workout Wednesday? I know I am!

This weeks’ workout is focusing on core work for runners. I’ve always heard that having a strong core is important as a runner because it helps you maintain proper form during fatigue and allows you to run at a faster pace, while also protecting your lower back and knees, but I never really understood why. So lucky for you, I decided to do the research for all of us and share my findings with you! You’re welcome! 🙂

Here are some articles I thought were interesting and helped answer some of my questions. Hopefully they can help clarify things for you too!

Now for the fun stuff! Here’s my current core exercise routine that I like to do a couple of times a week. The best thing is that most core exercises don’t require any equipment (The first three exercises in this workout do, but they can easily be adapted to not use equipment, with the exception of the stability ball crunch), which means you can do them anywhere. I’ve incorporated some of these exercises into a park bench/running circuit workout in the past and it was awesome!

You’ll also find that a lot of the advanced versions of the moves that I have linked to below focus on creating instability by alternating the legs and arms you are moving during each exercise. This just requires you to REALLY focus on engaging your core, so don’t be afraid to give them a try and see how they feel. They help to mimic the instability you feel as a runner since you only have one foot on the ground at a time, so the one legged/one armed options of exercises are great for runners!

Core-Workout-for-Runners
Here are some video/photo examples of each move to help you out with your form!

I hope you enjoy this workout and feel free to comment below to let me know how it went for you. Happy planking! 🙂

Questions of the Day:

What is your favorite core exercise?

What would you like to see me focus on in future Workout Wednesday posts?

Blog-Signature

Disclaimer: I am not a certified personal trainer, nor any type of an exercise professional. All of this information is based on my own personal experience and information I found online. Please check with your doctor before starting an exercise program and always do what works best for you and your body.

 

 

Share Your Thoughts :)

