Ultimate 12th Man Game Day Treats!

Hey there!

So I may have went a little crazy making 12th Man treats for our Super Bowl party, but I was really feeling inspired by all the green and blue baking supplies at the store, so I figured why not?!?! It’s not very often when I’m feeling a like embracing my inner Martha Stewart, so what’s the harm in going a little crazy. It’s the Super Bowl for goodness sake!

You know what’s really funny about watching sports with people? Finding out what type of fan they are. The die-hard fan that throws themselves on the floor after a loss, the highly superstitious one that needs to repeat things done while watching games before, the one who gives up too easy, the one who has to leave the room because it’s too intense to watch and the eternal optimist. Every party’s got one. Which type of fan are you?

Anyways… enough with my tangent and on to to goodies! Even though I made both of these treats in Seahawks colors, these can be easily customized to match your favorite teams’ colors. My local grocery store had a ton of different colored cake mix options, including orange of all colors, so I’m sure you’d be able to find something to make these for your next tailgating party!

12thmancupcakes

I (and by I, I mean my mom and aunt) found these colored cake mixes at the craft store along with matching colored sprinkles and cupcake papers. I also used Funfetti blue and green frosting on top (not pictured).

IMG_4077

I’m an incredibly lazy baker, so the fact that I could get my hands on all these green and blue baking supplies without having to dye them myself with food coloring, meant I HAD to make something fun with them!

IMG_4080

Each bag made 12 cupcakes so I ended up with a total of 24 cupcakes from two bags.

IMG_4081

Even though the directions on the bag say to mix the batter for 2 minutes, I wouldn’t recommend following those directions. I had to remake the green batch because the tops caved in from too much mixing. I would recommend just using your best judgement here and not mixing them for too long. A little goes a long way here!

IMG_4084

I decided that blue and green cupcakes wouldn’t be good enough. I decided to go the extra mile and make mini 12th Man flags to go on top of the cupcakes. I found an image of the flag online, re-sized it, placed them back to back for printing and then started cutting.

IMG_4177

After all the flags were cut out, I folded them in half and glued them to toothpicks and voila! 12 Man flag cupcake toppers!

IMG_4043

This is what the finished product looked like when I was finished. The sprinkles didn’t show up as good as I would have liked them to on the colored frosting, but they still tasted delicious! I might try a different kind of sprinkles to see if they’ll show up better next time, but I LOVED the finishing touch of the colored frosting!

IMG_4111

Here’s a side view of the cupcakes. Aren’t they adorable! (That’s my mom photo bombing the cupcake picture in the background!)

IMG_4165

12man-pb-cookies

Now for the 12th Man Peanut Butter M&M Cookies! I used this recipe to make these but decided to make them a little more exciting by using Peanut Butter M&M’s (MY FAVORITE!!!), instead of normal M&M’s.

IMG_4104

I ended up having to by one of the 56 ounce (3.5 pound) bags of PB M&M’s to get enough green and blue ones to make the cookies, but it was well worth it!

IMG_4102

The recipe made about 27 cookies and I think the PB M&M’s added a little something extra to the mix! I’ll definitely be making these guys again!

IMG_4126

Questions of the Day:

Did you watch the big game? What was your favorite part?

Do you prefer to watch the Super Bowl at a bar, house party or at home?

Which type of fan are you when watching a game on TV?

Signature

Linking up to Anyonita Nibbles, Lake Shore Runner, Lean Lena, Live Randomly SimpleThe New Mrs Adventures, A Savory Feast, Buns in My Oven, Healthy Living Blogs, Our Three Peas, A Pinch of Joy, The Chicken Chick & Peas and Crayons.

8 thoughts on “Ultimate 12th Man Game Day Treats!

  1. Those cupcakes are adorable and I could never say no to a peanut butter cookie 🙂

    I love football parties at home – mainly because it’s so much fun to prepare – and eat – all the delicious game snacks!

    Like

    • Thank you!!!

      I agree! I like being in the comfort of my own home and things are much cheaper when you’re not spending a ton of money on food and drinks at a bar!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Red Hot Red Velvet Cupcakes | A Couple of Dashes

  3. Pingback: Weekend in Review: Paint and Sip, Hiking and Carb-Loading! | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

