5 New Fitness Things I Want To Try In 2015

Hey there!

Today I am linking up with Jill of Jill Conyers and Jessica at The Fit Switch for their weekly Fit Dish link-up! This weeks’ topic is “Try Something New” so I decided to put together a list of 5 new fitness things that I want to try in 2015. Check out my list!

1. Take a Pilates reformer class

My friend Callie and I had plans to check out one of the reformer classes at a local Pilates studio, but our plans have been postponed a little since my accident. This one is still on the list though and will be getting checked off the list ASAP once I’m feeling better!

2. Learn how to indoor rock climb

This is another thing that Callie and I have had on our list for a very VERY long time. There is an intro to bouldering class for women once a month at a local rock climbing gym that we keep wanting to check out, but never seem to make it. This will be happening in 2015!

3. Complete a duathlon

I have no interest in completing a triathlon, but a duathlon seems like the perfect fit for me. I love running and I love biking (and by biking, I mean indoor cycling which is pretty much the same thing right?!?!) so I would want to do a duathlon that combined the two. Now I just need to pick out the perfect bike and figure out how not to kill myself clipping into the pedals.

4. Participate in a long distance relay race

I see a Ragnar race in my future for sure. Ever since I got a pair of Ragnar branded compression sleeves in a mystery bag from Pro Compression, I knew it was meant to be. I think this is honestly one of the last things that people who know me would expect me to doย since it requires you to travel around for two daysย in a smelly van, but I think it sounds awesome!

5. Actually train for and complete a half marathon (the first half I completed I didn’t actually train for)

I didn’t actually train for my first half marathonย due to an injury, so I would really like to be able to go through the experience of training and completing a half marathon. Crossing the finish line at my first half meant so much to me, so I can only imagine how much more awesome it would feel to go through all the ups and downs of training and then completing a half.

Questions of the Day:

What is something new that you want to try?

Signature

 

Linking up to Running With Spoons.

24 thoughts on “5 New Fitness Things I Want To Try In 2015

  1. Great plans! I love indoor rock climbing, although I do it incredibly infrequently now.

    Lately. I’ve been really feeling dance. But I want to wait it out and make sure it’s not just a passing thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • It looks challenging, but a lot of fun. I’ve been meaning to try it for a long time now so hopefully I will get to check it off soon!

      Have you decided if you were going to stick to the dance class you tried out yet?

      Like

  2. Oooh Ragner! That is on my bucket list one day. You know, I recently started wishing I could do a triathalon, but I can’t swim. It never occured to me to try a duathalon. But that would require me getting a bike.

    I’ve been wanting to try Barre classes…I haven’t yet because I already pay for a gym membership and there aren’t any studios close to me.

    Like

    • Yeah, getting a bike is a big investment, but I think it will be worth it. They used to have a Barre class at my gym, which was awesome but now I have to go to the studio down the street from my office instead.

      Like

  3. You will love reformer! I haven’t been in over 6 months b/c the class is far from my house, but I miss it. And a duathlon sounds fab! I don’t care much for swimming so run/bike would be perfect.

    Like

    • Thanks! Me too! I tried paddleboarding a couple years ago and couldn’t seem to get the hang of it. I really liked the concept of being out on the water exercising, but I couldn’t control the board very well so it was extremely frustrating. I hope you have better luck at it then I did!

      Like

  4. I totally want to do a Ragnar someday! It does sound like an awesome experience. And a half marathon is on my list too- I’ve never done one (yet!). I’d like to try a triathlon- maybe a sprint tri. I suck at swimming though so lessons would be needed (I swim like a frog haha). Oh and I’m still toying with the idea of World’s Toughest Mudder. Haven’t decided on that one yet!

    Like

    • Holy crap! Good for you! The World’s Toughest Mudder sounds crazy intense! I’m with you though, I’d have to take swimming lessons too! I’m an embarrassing swimmer! hahaha

      Like

    • I definitely will be! It’s hard to find 12 people who all like to run and want to participate in a relay team! I’ll definitely let you know when I sign up for one!

      Like

  5. Those sound like 5 awesome things to try. I would also really like to do a Ragnar relay. It is really hard to find 11 other people who want to do it, so if you want to field a team of bloggers, count me in!

    Like

    • AHHHH!!! That sounds like the best idea ever! Do you think we’d be able to get 12 bloggers on board that were willing to travel somewhere for one?

      Like

  6. What an awesome set of goals, and they all sound like so much fun. A ragnar has been calling my name, but I think I might go for my first tri this summer. We’ll see. Hurrah for new things. Way to go!

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I’m afraid of heights also, but I’m hoping that since it will be in an indoor climbing gym where I’ll be hooked in that it won’t bother me as much. Fingers crossed!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

