What I’ve Been Up To Lately

Hey there!

How are you doing? I feel like it’s been awhile since we got a chance to chat, so it seemed like it was about time we got together to catch up. So what have I been up to lately? Regrouping and trying to enjoy and appreciate the little things in life.

tumblr_mkf6x8DLgr1rjjpi4o1_500

Source here.

Totally random but I’ve been working on getting some desserts and auction items donated for the non-profit committee I am a part of. So far, I’ve been able to secure 3 desserts, 2 auction items and a team of 150 volunteers for an upcoming JDRF event. I consider that a success so far! πŸ™‚ This had been on the back burner for a little while, so it felt good to start making some progress on this again.

Mindy_inspirational

Source here.

As for A Couple of Dashes, I’m really excited about what the future has in store for this blog. This blog has been my baby from the beginning and I’m really focusing on making it the best it can be.Β I’ve been working on some new and exciting ideas for this blog that you all will be seeing soon! I’ve also been working with some companies to secure some giveaway items that I’m really excited about sharing with all of you, so keep your eyes peeled so you don’t miss out!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5851-1348846380-6

Source here.

Now on to what I was up to this weekend. Mickie and I started off the weekend with happy hour on Friday at a a new restaurant by our office. We will definitely be going back because it was delicious! They even had different options of fruit infused waters to choose from. I chose the watermelon option and it was so good! I definitely will be making some at home!

IMG_2204

We were wearing our Hawks gear to celebrate Blue Friday! AND NO, not all of that food was for me. We split it! πŸ™‚

IMG_2208

We ordered a french dip sandwich with a side salad to balance out all the other fried foods we ordered. πŸ™‚

IMG_2205

Fried pickles are always a win in my book!

IMG_2206

These mini jalapeno corn dogs were greasy but delicious. They hand make them at the restaurant with fresh batter so they’re not just frozen corn dogs.

IMG_2207

I spent Friday evening with two of my favorite people, Matt and Jenica. We (and by “WE” I mean Jenica) made delicious tacos for dinner and we spent the evening talking blogs, bicycles, small business laws (Matt is thinking about starting his own bike shop) and life. I also got my blood pressure checked by Jenica! She’s currently going to school to be a CNA, so I was a good friend and let her practice on me. πŸ™‚

10647039_10101068006253960_8558038927669460890_n

On Saturday morning, I went to spin class to work off all the greasy-ness I ate on Friday. There’s a pet store right next to my gym, so I stopped in and got Bella a pink frosted heart shaped dog treat. They ended up being a little to hard for her to bite, but she did lick the frosting off of it and made a huge mess with the fake coconut that was on the top.

IMG_2216

Then later that evening, I went to dinner with my mom, aunt and uncle at BJ’s Restaurant. The service was insanely slow, so our meal there took us over two hours. Needless to say, I don’t think we will be going back there again on a Saturday in the future. I still really like their food though, so I guess I’ll just have to go back during a less busy time of day.

After dinner, we went back to my aunt and uncles house to help her on her latest project, making a bubble quilt for my twin second cousins. (My aunt makes adorableΒ hand made baby clothes, accessories, toys and other misc items. You can check her stuff out here.) In case you’re wondering what a bubble quilt is, this is what a finished one looks like.

cd5b016aed914d43228c9d7edba01fd0

Source here.

Since my cousin had twin girls, my aunt is making one big enough for two babies. That equals out to 225 bubbles we have to make for the quilt. This is just the raw materials for the bubbles all cut out and ready to pin and sew.

IMG_2218

We have to do this to every.single.piece of material. All 225 squares. Now that’s love.

IMG_2219

After we ran out of pins, I went home to get some sleep before heading up to Everett on Sunday morning to cheer Katie on at The Biggest Loser half marathon! She ended up cutting 12:33 off her old pr! Nice work!

IMG_2246

I was able to meet up with her three times on the race course to cheer her on with my super fancy sign!

IMG_2262

When I wasn’t cheering for her, I was offering free high fives to the other runners. It was pretty cool to see some of the other runners a few times during the race and then see them cross the finish line at the end. I was so proud of them all at the end! It made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside to see people accomplishing such great things!

IMG_2270

Then we went to The Maltby Cafe for their famous breakfast afterwards to celebrate. I ordered the California Scramble, which had bacon, avocado, tomatoes and onions in it. I now need this in my life everyday. SO delicious!

IMG_2272

Then we saw Gone Girl to finish off the weekend. I won’t ruin it for you, but this is the ultimate screw with your mind movie. I was definitely/weirded out by it. Haha! I am sad that the weather is starting to change again, but love the fact that it’s cuddle up with a blanket and some hot cocoa to watch a movie inside and not feel guilty about neglecting the sunshine weather again. πŸ™‚

IMG_2273

Phew! That was a lot, but I feel like we’re all caught up now. πŸ™‚ I should be back on a consistent blogging schedule this week, so make sure you check back!

Questions of the Day:

Have you seen any good movies lately?

What did you do this weekend?

Any topics you’d like to see me post about? I’m all ears!Β 

Signature

10 thoughts on “What I’ve Been Up To Lately

  1. I gotta see Gone Girl. I loved the book and heard the movie was equally as good!

    I love BJs but they can be SO slow. I don’t want to rush a meal, but 2 hours is a bit insane.

    I had fried pickles this weekend, too. YUM. My husband and I went to Buffalo Wild Wings on Saturday afternoon to watch the Oregon/UCLA game. Then home for more college football watching that night (I simply cannot get enough). Sunday we took our 2 nephews (both age 10) to play laser tag + arcade + bowling then out for Arby’s (cuz that is where 10 year olds want to go). Wow, super fun day but we were spent by the time we got home around 3 pm. I guess we just LOVE having nephews to play with but we LOVE giving them back to mom and dad, too!! LOL.

    How is your injury coming along?

    Like

    • Do you know if there was only one book in the series or are their multiples? I’m sure you’ll love the movie. It’s insane!

      I’m all for not rushing a meal, but by the end of 2 hours, I was getting a little antsy!

      WOW! That sounds like an action packed weekend. Nice! I love spending time with my second cousins (I don’t have any siblings, so I don’t have any nieces or nephews) but I also like being able to give them back to their mom when I’m tired so I totally get where you’re coming from!

      Oh my gosh! You’re so sweet for remembering and for asking. Thank you! It’s coming along. I finally gave in this weekend and decided that I think I need to go to a doctor for it again so I can be up and ready to go for the Ragnar Relay I’m supposed to do with my friends next July.

      Like

      • I know the author wrote more books but heard they are VERY disturbing so GG was the only one I read.

        Yes, keep us posted on your appt and what you find out.

        I am slowly rehabbing from injury. Feel like I take 2 steps forward and then 2 steps back again. Everything was coming along but today my hip is so sore and cranky. Gotta stay off my feet until Saturday (bike, swim, weights, yoga only) and try again. But probably just a walk only (don’t want to get my hopes up). How much easier would life be if we didn’t love us some running πŸ™‚

        Hang in there, OK?

        Like

        • Yeah I was thinking about reading GG, but after watching the movie, I don’t even know if I could read that one. :/

          I will most definitely keep you guys posted. I was told it was quadricep tendinitis awhile back and started going to physical therapy for it. Everything was great, until one day it wasn’t again so I stopped going because it didn’t seem to be helping anymore so I can totally relate to the whole 2 steps fwd and 2 steps back thing you seem to be going through. That’s why I’ve taken up spin class lately. What injury are you trying to rehab from? OH MY GOSH! Life would be so much easier if we didn’t love running, but so much less enjoyable. There’s nothing like a good run! πŸ™‚

          I will. Thank you so much. I really appreciate it. You do the same! I’m rooting for you!

          Like

          • I have really bad pelvic mis alignment and it was causing a bunch of trouble on my right side and as all that was getting better and I was working up to 1.5 miles of running (run/walk 4-5 miles total) my left hip tendon flared up. I was babying that along but finally today about .5 miles in, it just didn’t feel right so I stopped. FRUSTRATING beyond words.

            Did you get your appt made?

            Like

            • That sounds horrible. Did they pop your hip back into alignment? I had that done once. It hurts, but works wonders… until it pops back out again. Blah! Did they give you some exercises and stretches to work on?

              No, I haven’t. I need to research who is a good doctor in my area. I don’t work near the doctor I used to go to anymore, so I’m starting from scratch… again.

              Like

            • No, the PT has me doing alignment exercises and working on my core from my hips to my shoulders. If the muscles are strong, then you should be able to hold alignment and not get hip rotations, etc. The alignment stuff is doing great. Each time I go in I have held my alignment. But this left hip thing (tendon on iliac crest) started creeping up. I had it before and ran through it until I could barely walk. Really don’t want to do that again so forcing myself off my feet until it’s not tender anymore and then I can start back with walking only. Sigh….

              Good luck finding a doctor. Where is your pain exactly?

              Like

            • Oh no! That sounds really painful and frustrating. Make sure you take care of yourself and don’t push it.

              It’s mostly just around the outside of my knee caps. If it gets really aggravated, the whole lower part of my legs can start hurting too. So frustrating.

              Like

  2. I went on a run about an hour ago and was thinking about you the whole time! Well, most of it. Mostly, I think I do want to do a half this next year, about our Greenlake plans and the Hot Chocolate 5k. I’m excited! Also, I need new running shoes. This has nothing to do with anything but I digress. Also, way to go on that quilt!

    Like

    • Awwww that’s so sweet! πŸ™‚ You should totally do a half this year. There’s the Seattle Half in December I believe. I’m excited for our Greenlake days and for the Hot Chocolate run too! I think we only get a medal for doing the 15k though so that might take a while to walk. :/ Still interested? Go to Road Runner Sports and get fitted for some shoes but don’t buy them there and we can do what we talked about on Friday. 40% will make a huge price difference! I’m excited to see what you pick!

      OMG. That quilt is going to be intense and it’s just begun. hahaha! It’s quite the labor of love!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

