Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 5 (if we can actually even call this one training…)

Hello everyone!

How’s everyone doing this week so far? I know Tuesday is a little late to post a training recap, but I was debating if I should even write this post at all because I didn’t do much training last week. I figured though for the sake of transparency and to make sure I’m not just showing the good on here, but the bad and the ugly also, we should probably dig into what happened last week.

As you all probably know by now, I am training for The Beats Half Marathon in August, with the help of Laura, and YOU can join me by using the code “coupledashes16” for 10% off when you register. I’d love to see you all there!

Here’s a snapshot of what my training looked like this week:

M: XT/Strength Workout

36 minutes spin intervals

  • 4 minutes warm up
  • 8 x 20 seconds sprint followed by 10 seconds recover (4 minutes total)
  • 3 minutes hills
  • 10 x 20 seconds sprint followed by 10 seconds recover (5 minutes total)
  • 4 minutes hills
  • 12 x 20 seconds sprint followed by 10 seconds recover (6 minutes total)
  • 5 minutes hills
  • 5 minutes cool down

Followed by strength training including: clam shells with resistance band, glute bridges with resistance band, Russian twists with 10 pound weight, good mornings with 20 pound bar, seated leg presses with a high of 90 pounds, lat pulldown with 45 pounds, pilates 100. Did each exercise for 3×15. Wrapped up with 2×15 with 80 pounds of assistance and 1×8 with 60 pounds assistance on assisted dips and assisted pullups.

Tu: 4.02 miles but I forgot to write down my time!

I did this run in the AM and then ended up getting in a car accident later on in the morning after my run so I’ve been icing, elevating and resting ever sense.

W: Rest

Th: Rest

F: Rest

Sa: Today I was supposed to run the Rock and Roll Seattle 8k with some friends to kick off my birthday celebration right, but due to what happened earlier in the week, I decided to play it safe and sit this one out. Getting to run Rock and Roll Seattle was my goal race, one year in the making, so not toeing the starting line was a little sad. I was grateful to be able to spend my birthday wine tasting with some of my favorite people though!

img_9111

At Chateau St Michelle Winery

img_9115

At Alexandria Nicole tasting room

Su: Rest

Check out more about my journey to the Beats Half Marathon start line here:

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/06/13/beats-half-marathon-training-week-4/

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/06/06/beats-half-marathon-training-week-3/

Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 2 + Discount Code

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/05/22/beats-half-marathon-training-week-1-spin-tabata-workout/

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/05/23/beats-10k-race-recap/

Questions of the Day:

Did you run any races last weekend?

What is your guilty pleasure when sidelined by an injury?

Signature

6 thoughts on “Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 5 (if we can actually even call this one training…)

  1. Ooooh what a fun birthday celebration! Chateau St. Michelle is near my husband’s work and I’ve been eager to visit there, their wines are so good. I’m still sorry to hear you couldn’t run RNR Seattle – but wine is a good substitute 🙂

    Like

    • It was a lot of fun! I definitely recommend checking out the Chateau! I try to go at least once a year. I love it there! We also went to Columbia, which is right across the street, and also a lot of fun (and less crowded!).

      Like

  2. Aw man! :[ Injuries suck! I hope you recover soon, and good call on sitting out the race! I’m glad you were still able to spend your birthday with good friends! 😀

    Like

  3. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 6 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

