Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 4

Hello my lovelies!

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and that you were able to log some outside miles! I had a pretty abnormal week of training this week. I was hosting some fitness classes for a board I’m on at work so I spent my cross training days working out in a new-to-me gym, trying out some dance fitness classes and meeting up with a local running group. All the changes seemed to throw everything off a little, making my runs this week seem a little harder than normal for me. Needless to say, I’m ready to get back into my normal routine this week.As you all probably know by now, I am training for The Beats Half Marathon in August, with the help of Laura, and YOU can join me by using the code “coupledashes16” for 10% off when you register. I’d love to see you all there!

Here’s a snapshot of what my training looked like this week:

M: Elliptical intervals workout + 3×15: seated leg presses, Pilates 100, glute bridges and clam shells with resistance band + Pilates to stop sciatica pain video.

img_9032

Tu: My first Seattle run group meet up! We did around 3.5 miles but I did’t have my watch on for the first .5 miles.

W: I was hosting a Dance Cardio class through the Health and Wellness board I’m on at work so I did this class. I had some time to kill between work and the class so I also did 4 miles/42 minutes of intervals on the elliptical.img_9035

Th: 4 easy miles at an average pace of 10:29 min/mile; L1: 10:28 L2:10:38 L3: 10:24 L4: 10:27; total: 42:02.3

My runs this week seemed a lot harder than normal so I’m hoping this was just an off week and that next week things will get back to normal.

F: This was supposed to be a cross training/strength day but ended up being an impromptu rest day, thanks to an ugly allergic reaction to some new eye makeup remover that made both of my eyes swell up and were incredibly painful. 😦

Sa: Snoqualmie Valley 10k! 6.23 miles at an average pace of 9:53 min/mile; L1: 9:52 L2: 10:20 L3: 10:12 L4: 9:52 L5: 9:55 L6: 9:29 L7: 1:52; 1:01:31 total

Thanks to some awesome medicine, my eyes were almost back to normal in time for the race! I was really sprinting to the finish line during the last .50 miles of the race so I know I could have picked up the pace a little earlier in the race.

img_9067

Post race recovery looked a little something like this after foam rolling and stretching… compression socks, icing Achilles and chocolate coconut water. Why is this stuff so hard to find in the stores? I can’t find it ANYWHERE!!!

img_9077

Su: Rest

 

Pre-Run Nutrition:

Tu: gluten free waffle with peanut butter

Th: banana

Sa: gluten free waffle with peanut butter and half a banana

 

Check out more about my journey to the Beats Half Marathon start line here:

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/06/06/beats-half-marathon-training-week-3/

Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 2 + Discount Code

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/05/22/beats-half-marathon-training-week-1-spin-tabata-workout/

https://acoupleofdashes.com/2016/05/23/beats-10k-race-recap/

 

Questions of the Day:

Did you race this weekend? How did you do?

  • I did the Snoqualmie Valley 10k this week and did relatively well, considering this is the first time I’ve ran this distance without stopping in years.

Do you have anything that you do for superstitious reasons before a race?

  • I always paint my nails a fun color. This is something I’ve been doing since I ran in my very first 5k years and years ago. I used to be really big into nail polish (and still have a HUGE collection) and my first 5k was a St. Paddy’s Day Run, so a green mani obviously made sense! πŸ™‚

Signature

13 thoughts on “Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 4

  1. Congrats again on the 10K! And thanks for sharing my elliptical link πŸ™‚ My weird pre-race superstition is that I have to wear a bright colored top. I blame it on that my worst race was when I wore all black!

    Like

    • Thanks so much! Of course! Your elliptical intervals workout made the elliptical actually enjoyable and made the time fly! Wearing a bright top is definitely important! It helps me feel speedy! People recognize others after the race by the colors they wear also. I had a guy come up to me and congratulate me on my race on Saturday and if I hadn’t been wearing bright teal shorts and a fun headband, I definitely wouldn’t have stood out in the crowd!

      Like

  2. Nice job in the 10k! And great job with your training this week! I don’t think i have any race superstitions, at least none that stand out to me right now! But Im sure there are things I do before a race without even thinking about it:)

    Like

    • Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

      Haha! I’m sure you do! I feel like if I really looked closer, I would probably have at least one more that I am overlooking.

      Like

  3. I used to be big in to nail polish, and it actually helped me stop biting my nails. I rarely wear it now, and if I have nail polish on, it’s to spruce up my runner’s feet.

    Like

    • It does help me from biting my nails also but I LOVE peeling off nail polish so I can make a huge mess when I’ve decided it’s time to take it off!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 5 (if we can actually even call this one training…) | A Couple of Dashes

  5. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 6 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

