Beats 10k Race Recap

Hey everyone!

This recap has been a long time coming but better late than never right?!!? Late in the afternoon last Saturday, Carleeh sent me a text saying that she had an extra bib for The Beats 10k that evening and asked if I wanted to join her. So I thought “Why not agree to an impromptu 10k starting in around 2.5 hours?” so I said yes! We agreed that we were going to just be running for fun and taking breaks whenever we needed to so I felt comfortable taking this on even though my current longest distance had been around 3 miles before the race.

img_8847

I hurried home from my Trader Joe’s shopping trip and tried to decide what would be a good pre race meal that would be filling enough, since I hadn’t had lunch yet, but that wouldn’t upset my stomach either. I landed on a plain turkey patty and quinoa with olive oil. This definitely worked out well for me!

img_8846

When I arrived at the race, I had to park a little ways away and walk to the start line, which was at Redhook Brewery in Woodinville. If you’re unfamiliar with the area, Woodinville is well known for it’s breweries, wineries and distilleries and is definitely a fun place to visit for a wine tasting hop with friends on the weekend!

img_8850

The start line area wasn’t too crowded and also had a DJ spinning on the stage to help set the tone for a fun race! I definitely loved the energy of this race and tend to prefer smaller local races to larger ones because of the homegrown feel of the race. Day of packet pickup at this event was also a breeze, but I did arrive around 1 hour early and most of the participants were there for the 5k, so the 10k packet pickup line was short when I arrived. SCORE!

img_8874

The beginning of the race was a little crowded and went almost immediately up a small hill, but once we got up the hill, around the corner and on to the trail, everything started to thin out a little so we could get into our own grove, which was basically us having an absolute blast chatting it up and taking funny pictures and snapchats along the way. I would definitely recommend starting at the front of the group to anyone checking out this race in the future to help eliminate dealing with congestion issues, but that pretty much goes for all races. 🙂

img_8871

Check out the view from the course. Can’t get much better than this! I’ve realized lately that the miles tend to drag on for me when I’m not running in an inspiring and pretty area, so I think I’ll be signing up for more races on courses similar to this in the future. This was also a mostly flat race so this would be a good one to check out if you’re looking to run a speedy race and try to PR or place.

img_8870

The weather the day of the race was really odd, kind of like my hair in this photo, so our jackets didn’t stay on long. It had been pouring down rain all day long, so we were lucky that the weather held out for the most part during the race. It was pretty humid though and I think the surrounding trees made it warmer by blocking out some of the air flow.

img_8875

The course was well supported with a gel and hydration station that was fully stocked with Clif gels (my current favorite), water and Nuun so I was a happy girl. The 10k course passed the hydration station twice during the run and was staffed by a group of local cheerleaders who were adorable and made sure we had everything we needed. The only thing I wish they had more of were places to throw our trash. I only saw one trash bag on the other side of the course, but it really wasn’t a big deal for us since we were just in it for the fun of it anyways.

img_8876

The race was marked by bright green and pink arrows on the trail and the turn around sign in the picture. You can see one of the arrows in the middle right of the photo above. I’ve never ran a race that didn’t have people directing you along the course, but it didn’t prove to be an issue.

img_8877

Backwards running thumbs up and crazy hair…

img_8879

This is always my go to silly face and I have no idea why. I definitely need to come up with something new. #goals

img_8863

Check out those sweet finishers medals! They even called out my name when I crossed the finish line. Gotta love it when that happens!

img_8872

We were both really proud of each other and I was beyond proud of myself for finishing this race. Even though we didn’t run for time, didn’t PR, stopped for photos and took a couple of short walk breaks, this is one of my greatest running accomplishments to date. We showed up to have fun and log some miles and that we did!

img_8859

The DJ’s on the course were playing fun music to dance to and waved at us when we went by and we spent some time running with other participants along the course chatting with them about their upcoming races. I found this to be a very fun and friendly way to get back into running races again. They also had bananas, oranges and pretzels at the finish line, along with booths selling food and drinks so runners could hang out with their friends after the race creating a fun environment for everyone! The also had age group prizes that were awarded at the event which I always love to watch to help set new goals to strive for!

img_8856

Here’s a close up of all the swag from the race…

img_8862

The fun thing about this race is there is a spring version (5k and 10k) in May in the evening and a summer version (10k and half) in August in the morning, so there’s a distance for everyone. You can register for any of the events separately or you can register for one race in each version at a package price.

Now for the exciting news… I enjoyed my experience during this race so much that I decided to do the half in August! If you haven’t already, check out the recap from my first week of training!

Questions of the Day:

Do you ever run a race for fun or do you always go with a time goal in mind?

What’s your next race on the calendar?

Do you like racing better at night or in the morning?

Signature

9 thoughts on “Beats 10k Race Recap

  1. D-damn, haha. I don’t think I’d be able to handle an impromptu race. It looked like you had a really fun time though! :] Yay for the picture breaks, and that shirt is super cute!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 2 + Discount Code | A Couple of Dashes

  3. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 3 | A Couple of Dashes

  4. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 4 | A Couple of Dashes

  5. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 5 (if we can actually even call this one training…) | A Couple of Dashes

  6. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 6 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

