Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 1 + Spin Tabata Workout!

Photo here.

Hello Everyone!

I haven’t officially announced this on here yet but after running The Beats 10k last weekend, I decided to commit to training for a half marathon later this summer. Now since I’m still rehabbing from an injury that I’m definitely ready to be done dealing with, I know I won’t be crushing any crazy times with this half. This training cycle is more about actually getting back to doing what I love and just finishing the race.

Since I’m really trying to be safe with my training and not reaggravate my injury, I decided to work with a running coach this time around so I could have some extra guidance leading up to race day. I’m working with Laura from This Runner’s Recipes, who is also a local Seattle area running and she’s been amazing so far!

Here’s what my training has looked like this week!

M: Rest Day

Tu: XT/Strength

37 mins spin

  • 5 minutes warm up
  • 8 x 20 seconds sprint followed by 10 seconds recover (4 minutes total)
  • 3 minutes hills
  • 10 x 20 seconds sprint followed by 10 seconds recover (5 minutes total)
  • 4 minutes hills
  • 12 x 20 seconds sprint followed by 10 seconds recover (6 minutes total)
  • 5 minutes hills
  • 5 minutes cool down

Followed by strength training including: squats using smith machine, seated leg press, assisted pullups, assisted dips, seated rows, lat pull down, glute bridge using resistance band, clam shells using resistance band, pilates 100, 30 second plank, 30 second side plank on each side. Do each exercise 3×15.

W: First run of the training cycle! 3 easy miles at 10:27 pace. I also did a quick post run core/strength workout.

This run was a bit of a struggle due to super tight calves that have thankfully clamed down since this run!

img_8904

Th: Rest

F: Same spin/strength workout listed for Tuesday, except added in Russian Twists, Good Mornings and Stir the Pot (plank on a stability ball and do 5 small circles to the right with your arms on the ball and 5 to the left).

Sa: First long run of the training cycle! 4 miles at 11:20 pace.

I totally misread the pace range for this run and ended up running three of my four runs a little too slow. This was definitely challenging due to the amount of hills in the area I decided to do my long run. I had to walk up the remainder of one of the hills because the pretty steep incline that lasted for a few blocks started to feel a little aggravating to my hip. I also didn’t eat or drink anything before I headed out for this since I rolled out of bed for this one. Definitely paid for that decision a round mile 3.

Su: Same XT/Strength from Tu and F except I removed the squats, leg presses and good mornings and focused on stretching my super tight hamstrings!

Thoughts from this week’s training: It was a little discouraging how challenging some of my runs from this week have been. I expected the first few weeks of this cycle to be a little easier, but I attribute some of this too not properly fueling before my long run, needing more hill work and having issues with tight calves/hamstrings this week.

It’s also been a bit of a struggle getting back to a workout heavy routine. I’m trying to switch to some morning workouts so I can still hang out with friends after work too so I don’t completely drop off the social radar until the end of August!

Questions of the Day:

What was your favorite workout from the week?

How did your long run go this week?

Did you do anything fun this weekend?

Signature

6 thoughts on “Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 1 + Spin Tabata Workout!

  1. Pingback: Beats 10k Race Recap | A Couple of Dashes

  2. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 2 + Discount Code | A Couple of Dashes

  3. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 3 | A Couple of Dashes

  4. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 4 | A Couple of Dashes

  5. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 5 (if we can actually even call this one training…) | A Couple of Dashes

  6. Pingback: Beats Half Marathon Training – Week 6 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

