#IAmWomen: The Fit Dish Interview

Hiya there!

Every Tuesday I link up with Jessica and Jill for The Fit Dish linkup. If you haven’t heard of The Fit Dish linkup yet, it’s an awesome linkup where empowering women athletes/bloggers share their fitness tips and tricks, favorite recipes and inspiring stories with the blogosphere.

The “FitFam” community wants you to get to know us all a little better by sharing some of our stories about why we are who we are. If you have a blog, make sure YOU (YES, YOU) participate this week too, because we can all learn and grow from one another!

This week on The Fit Dish:

GET TO KNOW THE INTELLIGENT, BEAUTIFUL and ACTIVE WOMEN WHO EMBODY A ‘NEVER GIVE UP’ ATTITUDE. 

Processed with Moldiv

Processed with Moldiv

So without further ado, here’s a little bit about me.

WHAT IS YOUR PROUDEST ACHIEVEMENT TO DATE?

This one is a tricky one actually. When I sat down to write this, I thought for sure that I had one particular achievement that came to mind. Now when it’s time to commit to a particular moment, I actually had 3 significant moments that came to mind that I’m particularly proud of. Let’s dig in…

Graduating Cum Laude in college.

Somehow I managed to graduate Cum Laude from college while also completing 3 internships and working 2 or 3 random jobs at a time. I was busy busy busy all of the time but somehow I also managed to excel in school. It was no small feat, but I’m so proud of myself for all that I was able to accomplish and excel at during my time in college.

4226_530842500660_7534168_n

Finishing my first half marathon.

I was petrified the night before my first half and definitely had a little bit of a meltdown on the curb outside of my hotel while talking to my mom on the phone. I was a hot mess disaster. But since I’m not one to shy away from a challenge, I woke up the next morning, put my big girl pants on (aka running shorts and a sequin skirt) and put one foot in front of the other.

1932404_868229264880_200285137_n

Getting a new job and moving to the big city all on my own.

Those of you who have been following my blog for awhile might remember reading about my big moving adventure. For those of you who are new, I decided to make a career change back in March and try a career path that was completely new to me. This career change also required me to move into an apartment by myself in Seattle which is further away from my family than I have ever lived before.

There have been moments that I have hated it and moments that I have loved it. It’s definitely been a bumpy road, but I’m happy to report that I’m still alive three months later! These past three months have been full of some of the most life changing experiences of my life and I’m just getting started!

IMG_4956

WHAT KEEPS YOU PASSIONATE?

Learning, growing and achieving.

I’m not good at living life in neutral and just coasting along. I always have to be working towards a goal and achieving something or I get bored. I think that’s one of the main reasons why I fell in love with running. There’s always a new race to try and a new speed or distance to train for. It’s impossible to run out of things to learn about running, find ways to grow into a better runner and discover new milestones to achieve.

I believe in never becoming complacent in your life.

brave

Source here.

WHY DO YOU THINK IT’S SO IMPORTANT FOR WOMEN TO UNITE AS A SISTERHOOD AND EMPOWER EACH OTHER?

Because if we don’t, then who will? But seriously though. The power of a group united as one is so much stronger than the power of one person standing alone. Yes, I did just come up with that off the top of my head. Be impressed! 🙂

We all come from different backgrounds and have experienced so many different things in life that if we come together and share what we learned from those experiences, we will be stronger as a group. I know that I learn so much from my mom, my aunt, my cousins, my friends and my FitFam every single day that helps me grow into a better and more aware person every single day.

It’s easy to get overwhelmed by situations in life, so knowing someone else went through the same thing too and made it out alive helps put things into perspective. I mean why else do we grab a glass of wine and our best girlfriends to chat and dish out advice? Sometimes life can get hard, but with the support of each other, it doesn’t have to take us down.

WHAT ARE SOME EXAMPLES OF SOME SMALL WAYS WE CAN EMPOWER THE WOMEN AROUND US IN OUR DAY TO DAY LIFE?

One biggie that I can think of is acknowledge when the women in your life are using negative self talk and call them on it. As women, we’re so used to following up a compliment with a remark that talks negatively about ourselves, instead of just smiling and saying thanks. Therefore, I think the best thing we can do for each other is to call each other to the carpet when we hear this happening (in a nice way of course!) so that we all can break this bad habit for good.

WHAT IS ONE PIECE OF ADVICE YOU WOULD LIKE TO SHARE WITH THE FITFAM?

Never give up on your dreams.

I actually can’t take credit for this advice though because it was my mom who gave me this advice just last night. I thought it was definitely worth sharing with all of you even though it didn’t come straight from me!

rhino-to-unicorn

Source here.

Inspired by Loran Jane’s #IAMWOMAN campaign.

Questions of the Day:

Answer any (or all) of the questions above. I’d love to hear what you think about this!

Signature

21 thoughts on “#IAmWomen: The Fit Dish Interview

  1. Love this!! The advice that I follow actually came from a Dove chocolate wrapper that I opened during the work day when I was feeling stuck in my past job.

    “Why settle for a spark when you can light a fire instead.”

    Touché, Dove wrapper, touché. Needless to say, ~a year later I’m living in a completely new city exploring all the wonder that life has brought my way! Thanks for sharing your inspiration. 🙂

    Like

  2. I had the guts to quit a bad job, move to a brand new city and make something of my life. Looking back on it, I can’t believe I didn’t think for one minute about how scary that is.

    Like

    • That’s so awesome! Good for you! Sometimes the fear is overshadowed by desire to make a change. I’m so happy you had the courage to venture outside of your comfort zone and try something new! I hope you’re enjoying it!

      Like

  3. Whew! Major props to you on kicking butt in school while also doing so much! I can’t say the same went for me, hahaha. 😛 I’m very happy that you’re alive and well after your big move! ;P

    “I believe in never becoming complacent in your life.” <- I couldn't agree more!

    My friend has that rhino/unicorn t-shirt! ❤

    Like

    • PUHLEEZE! You’re crazy if you think you’re not just as busy in college! You’re busy all of the time with med school stuff! 🙂

      Thank you! I’m happy to be alive and well after it too! It was a struggle for awhile but it’s getting better now!

      I NEED THAT SHIRT!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hahaha, I don’t deny the busy part, but I definitely didn’t do as well with my grades! 😮 Major props to you!

        I’m glad it’s getting better! My friend got the shirt on threadless.com. Not sure if they’re still printing it, but hopefully!

        Like

  4. These are awesome questions, I love hearing more about my favorite bloggers:)
    Love your mom’s advice, that is exactly the same advice I follow and share in my life. You’re never too old to dream, and you should never give up on your dreams even if it takes a lifetime to achieve them:)
    Great job in school by the way, that is awesome!
    I remember my first move away from home, it was bitter sweet too, it’s hard to be away from family, but we do learn so much going through the process:) Great post today!

    Like

    • Awww thanks so much! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading it! And thanks for your congrats on school! You’re so sweet!

      I completely agree! It’s never too late to follow your dreams! We sometimes get caught up in the daily grind and they move to the back burner though so sometimes it can be a struggle to keep actively working towards them.

      Happy Tuesday!

      Like

  5. Tricia, you’re a rock star. You are making all sorts of leaps and bounds with your life. It’s so inspiring. Where to move past fear, and go for your dreams!!! And, I love the idea of calling ladies out on negative self talk. It’s so true. It’s not worth our time or energy, and helping women get rid of it, would do us all good! : ) Loved reading this and getting to know you better. Enjoy Seattle! #fitfamlove

    Like

  6. Nice blog today, the first proudest moment in my life was marrying the man I love and have spent 34years with. Another one was have a beautiful daughter that would give me so much joy in my life. The last one is her graduating from PLU with honors and finely getting a job that she likes. She has become an amazing young lady. I am so proud of her

    Like

  7. I like the idea of calling others out when they use negative self talk. It’s a great way to build awareness of that awful habit. So many women do it without even thinking! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Like

  8. Pingback: Link Love 06.21.15 & HAPPY FATHER’S DAY! | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

