Weekend In Review: Fremont 5k, Adventure Run, Books and More!

Hello there friendly faces!

How was your weekend?!!? Did you get into any fun shenanigans?!?! Since I was crazy busy last weekend, I decided to kick back a little this weekend and enjoy some relaxing time in the sun. Well that and the fact that I over did it a little on Thursday and Friday and was in desperate need of a break and a trip to the chiropractor.

In order to loop you all in on what I’m talking about, I’m going to start my “weekend recap” with photos from my adventures on Thursday and Friday followed by what I did over the weekend. I know… I know… this is a weekend recap, but rules were meant to be broken, right?!!

As always, I’m linking up with Tara at Running N Reading, Katie at Healthy Diva Life and Erin at Her Heartland Soul for their weekend recap linkups. If you have a blog, consider linking up your weekend recap posts too and/or stop by to read what others did over the weekend! So let’s get into it!

After work on Thursday Andriana and I headed over to Greenlake for the June Adventure Run. I was a little worried about how the weather was going to be since it was grey and rainy at the beginning of the week, but the sun came out to play on Thursday and it was awesome!

IMG_5811

We made it to almost all of the checkpoints this month and got tons of tickets for the raffle!

IMG_5817

The chance to win new shoes and gear is always exciting!

IMG_5819

I still haven’t won anything yet, but I still love participating! It’s such a fun event and the crowd is always a blast!

IMG_5824

After the run (which we walked) we decided to grab some froyo and do a lap around the lake (it’s 3 miles) to soak up some more friend time…

IMG_5826

and take advantage of the beautiful weather.

IMG_5825

By the time I made it home for the evening, I had blown my 10,000 steps a day goal out of the water! I know that sounds like a good thing, but I really felt it the next morning and it was not good!

IMG_5829

After work on Friday I headed over to Fremont with my friends Andriana and Tracey to volunteer at the Fremont 5k! For those of you who have never volunteered at a race before, I highly recommend it. I’ve always had a lot of fun when I’ve done it (despite being drown in the rain) and most race companies will give you a free shirt and race entry in exchange for your help. It’s a great way to manage your racing addiction in a fiscally responsible way while also getting more involved in the running community!

IMG_5832

I didn’t participate in the race this year, but I did both the 5k and the briefcase relay last year and had an absolute blast. For the relay, teams of 5 run a small leg of a 5k race while carrying a briefcase full of canned goods to be donated at the end of the race.

I really loved the design of their shirts this year. What’s not to love about a friendly dino shirt?!!?

IMG_5834

When I originally signed up to volunteer at the race, I was supposed to just be handing out shirts and race packets. Since there was a lack of volunteers, I stuck around awhile longer to help cut timing chips off of the runners’ shoes, which I’d never done before. Everyone was super nice and it was fun to greet everyone at the finish line!

IMG_5833

One of my new favorite things to do is to listen to audiobooks while I’m commuting or getting ready in the morning. On Saturday, I finished up my most recent book “First Frost” by Sarah Addison Allen. It was an interesting concept for a story, but struggled to hold my attention in some parts.

Now that I’ve finally finished with my last Audible, I can’t wait to check out Overdrive! Thanks to Tara for introducing it to me!

IMG_5904

I picked up the 2015 Runner’s World Complete Guide To Training and read through some of it while soaking up the sun with my favorite little fur ball!

IMG_5914

After that, I ran some errands with my mom (where we picked up some fun new clothes at Target), had dinner with my parents and did a little meal prep for day one of the 3 Day Refresh Cleanse that I plan to start on Monday!

IMG_5918

I love the time of year when air dried hair, jean shorts and sandals become my daily go-to look so I’m so excited the warm weather has finally arrived! I’m even more excited that it’s planning to stick around all week!

Questions of the Day:

What was the high point of your weekend?

What’s your favorite froyo flavor and toppings?

Have you ever volunteered at a race?

Signature

16 thoughts on “Weekend In Review: Fremont 5k, Adventure Run, Books and More!

  1. I LOVE audio books. Audible is my unnecessary splurge every month. Our old library used overdrive and it was great! The high point of my weekend was definitely going to a Kenny Chesney concert. I’ll take cake batter froyo and strawberries on top any day!

    Like

    • AHHHHH! I love Kenny! He always puts on such a good show! And great pick for your froyo! Cake Batter is my favorite flavor too!

      Like

  2. Sounds like a fun weekend! I love audible but cancelled my subscription once my son was born/I stopped having a commute. I listen to podcasts and music at home and while walking/running/working out but I need to be doing not much ekde in order to actually pay attention to audio books and it wasn’t happening for me

    Like

    • I know exactly what you mean! What podcasts do you like listening to? I love “Not Too Deep” by Grace Helbig, Serial and “Psycho Babble” by Tyler Oakley but am always looking for new ones!

      Like

  3. Okay, first of all…how did I miss that you have an UP24? I just found you on there, so now we can be teammates! Sarah Addison Allen writes some cute stories; they are light reads and I think they’re fun if you need something quick, but I do imagine it might be hard to stay focused on these via audiobook. I can’t wait to see what you’re going to try next! I love volunteering at races, as well as spectating/cheering; I love seeing those faces pass by! I’m glad you had such a great weekend and thanks so much for linking up with the blog. Hope your Monday is going well!

    Like

    • I didn’t know you had one either, so don’t feel bad! I just got your friend request and was so excited! You’ve already hit your goal for today! Congrats!

      Sarah Addison Allen is definitely good for light reads and the book wasn’t bad, but I was just expecting something a little more grabbing. Do you have any recommendations for something else to check out? I have a few on my wishlist, but am not sure what to try next!

      Thanks for hosting the linkup and for connecting on Up! Happy Monday! 🙂

      Like

      • Did you read Girl on the Train? I also really enjoyed My Sunshine Away. Those are two kind of suspenseful, dramatic reads that would likely hold your attention…I can’t remember what you’ve read lately, even though I know we’ve talked about it – GAH!

        Like

        • Girl on the Train is one of my absolute favorites! I loved that book! I’ve read Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty, The Husbands’ Secret by Liane Moriarty, The Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll, Blackberry Winter by Sarah Jio and The Violets of March by Sarah Jio recently. I’ll have to try My Sunshine Away! Sounds exciting! Thanks!

          Like

  4. I just downloaded Audible on my phone. Need to get some material now. FroYo is one of my favorite summertime treats.
    I volunteer for at least one race every year. It’s such a great experience.

    Like

    • Yay! I hope you enjoy the world of audiobooks! I love volunteering too! Everyone was so friendly and happy to be there!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

