How to gain a clearer mind and a new perspective.

Hey there!

Today I want to talk to you guys about losing your mojo and how to gain it back. It’s something I personally have experience with, so in the spirit of being open and honest here, I wanted to share my thoughts and experience.

I’m not going to lie, I’ve been in a serious funk lately. I haven’t been feeling good about myself and have been feeling a little stressed and also down and out. I finally realized that it’s mostly because my exercise and healthy eating habits have been slipping a little. I’ve spent a lot of time making excuses like “I’m too tired”, “I got off work late”, or “I won’t make it to the gym in time for spin class” so I might as well just go home.

837dfbb16ed5de5b1a334614bf10c6ee

Source here.

We all make excuses for ourselves from time to time, but at some point, you will reach a fork in the road where you have to make a decision of which way you want to go and commit to it. Do you want to keep letting excuses stand in your way or do you want to be a problem solver and find a way to still commit to a healthy lifestyle DESPITE all of the things that may be standing in your way.

518648413739876352

Source here.

After work on Friday, I decided against going out with some work friends and hit up the spin bike instead. Sometimes, even though you WANT to do something fun, what you really NEED to do is create balance for yourself, which means sometimes you have to say no to friend time and yes to sweat time instead. But sometimes if you’re lucky, you can have the best of both worlds.

IMG_5717-0

On Monday, a friend asked me if I wanted to go to the movies with her and I said yes, but only AFTER I was done with my workout (the movie didn’t start until later, so I had plenty of time!). Now it may not be ideal to go to the movies with friends after your workout, but since I wanted to do both and could do both time wise, I didn’t let not wanting to show up a little sweaty to see Pitch Perfect 2 stand in my way!

 

It’s interesting how much just a short workout can change your mood and your perspective on things. I left both workouts felling a little better about myself, less stressed and better about life in general than I did before my sweat sessions, so the proof is in the pudding. Working out can make you feel like a less stressed, more positive and self-loving version of yourself.

tumblr_mq7jzkDD4m1szx1oxo1_500

Source here.

I know your jaws are all dropping in shock right now (insert sarcastic tone here), but I thought it was worth while to point this out since we all forget and fall off course from time to time and need a friendly reminder. 

So since we all can use a friendly nudge every once in awhile, here are my tried and true tips for feeling like your best self. Enjoy!

Tried and true tips for feeling like your best self:

  1. Create a workout routine that works for you and your schedule and stick to it.(Make sure to take some time off if you’re feeling sick or taking a rest day.)
  2. Make time for your friends/family AND your workouts. (Bonus points if you can hang out with your friends/family WHILE getting your workout in!) Spending time with those we love is good for us and can decrease stress levels and brighten our moods. 
  3. Eat healthy, but splurge a little here and there too. Everything in moderation!
  4. Don’t be so hard on yourself! We all tend to pick ourselves apart from time to time, so this is your friendly reminder to stop!
  5. Leave a little wiggle room in your workout/meal plan. Creating such a strict plan for yourself will create unnecessary stress in your life and cause you to be less likely to stick to your plan.

Questions of the Day:

What are some of your tried and true tips for feeling like your best self?

What is your go to workout to help you get out of a funk?

What’s one positive thing that has happened to you this week so far?

Signature

12 thoughts on “How to gain a clearer mind and a new perspective.

  1. Ugh – this is brutal! Perfect example – I was incredibly tired yesterday, and work was piling up, and there were so many excuses I wanted to make (literally, “the sun is out, it might be too hot.” WHAT?!) But getting out the door is always the hardest step.

    One promise that I’ve made to myself that I’ll never skip 3 days in a row. I can skip 1-2, but #3… gotta do it!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • You’re so right! Getting out of the door is always the hardest step but the more times we cross that hurdle, the easier it gets! I love your 3 days in a row rule. I try to follow the same rule too! I hope you have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Finding balance is so difficult! I really like your perspective and think you are doing a great job. One positive thing – finally went to the doctor to get medicine for my sinus infection! Haha. I no longer feel like a big balloon!! It’s the little things. Go to workout is SoulCycle – it’s pricy so I try to limit how often I go, but if I need an extra kick, it always does the trick!! Hope you have a great Wednesday! : )

    Like

    • THANK YOU! You’re so sweet! I’m glad you were finally able to make a trip to the doctor. That’s definitely a big win! We have to take care of ourselves no matter how busy life gets. We don’t have a SoulCycle around here but we do have a FlyWheel and I love it! It’s also super expensive, so I can’t go often but I do treat myself from time to time. I also really like barre3 and have been doing their workouts online and in the studio. Hope you had a great week and that you’re feeling better!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I hear that. I was doing a super strict diet a few weeks ago and ended up burning out big time. Once I stopped the diet I binged on everything. It was ridiculous.
    We definitely have to treat ourselves every once in a while or we end up doing what I did.
    glad you found your way out of the funk.

    Like

    • That’s so true! I can’t stick to super strict diet for more than a few days. I definitely feel best when I’m working out and eating clean but I need a treat here and there to keep me from going crazy!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This came at the right time. I feel like I’ve read a lot lately about a bunch of us bloggers being in a funk. Is it because it’s the beginning of summer and a lot is going on? I don’t know, but I’m there too. I’m coming out of it now…because I made myself use the 15 minute rule yesterday….run for at least 15 minutes, and if it is too painful, stop and try again tomorrow. It rarely is too painful, so this rule works for me a lot.
    Glad you are making your way out too!!

    Like

    • I’m glad this came at a good time for you. I’m not sure why everyone’s feeling like this lately but I know a lot of my friends are too. It’s very odd and I hope it goes away soon! I love your 15 minute rule! I’ve been trying to formulate a workout plan so I have something to stick too in addition to walking more during the day and it seems like it’s been helping a little. I hope you start feeling better soon!

      Like

  5. I’ve been in such a funk lately, too, and my workouts are suffering. I’m afraid I’m not going to be ready for the half next weekend. But I force myself to run and even after that or a work out – I still feel funky. *sigh* Maybe after classes end on Tuesday? I miss you!

    Like

    • I’ve been having the same problem too. You’ll be fine next weekend! It’s just the nerves! You can always take walk breaks here and there as you need them. You’re going to be great!

      I miss you too! When are we going to have time to be besties again?!?! It’s been too long!!!

      Like

  6. Sometimes I do think we need a little “ME” time to get a clear mind and just unstress!
    I like to take a drive up a canyon, a hike or even take myself to a movie. Ya, I do that, and I am just realizing I could really use a good movie right now, and ya I do get popcorn even alone:)

    Like

    • I completely agree! What’s the best movie you’ve seen recently? I just saw Pitch Perfect 2 and it was pretty good. Next on my list is Tomorrowland!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

