Weekend in Review – Oreo Bottom Cupcakes, Puffins and Family Time!

Happy Monday everyone!

Hopefully the sun was out in your neck of the woods, because it was BEAUTIFUL around here this weekend! It was shorts, bare feet in the grass and ice cream weather all the way. It’s amazing how much of a difference getting a little sunlight in your day can do to change your mood! I made the mistake of thinking my Fresh Sugar lip balm had SPF in it and ended up with sunburnt lips by the end of the day on Saturday, but it was well worth it to spend the day running around outside chasing the little ones that were in town visiting.

But let’s not get too ahead of ourselves and get back to Friday night. After 1 hour of solo spinning, this is what I looked like on Friday night around 7pm. No heels, just spin shoes. This may be why I’m still single.

IMG_5717

On Saturday morning, I got up bright and early to get a haircut and make these Oreo bottom cupcake masterpieces for our family get together later on in the day. I was super excited to try out my decorating gun for the first time and I think the finished product turned out pretty good!

IMG_5799

Later on in the day, I headed over to my aunt and uncle’s house for so quality family time in the sun with my aunt, uncle, mom, dad, cousin, cousin-in-law and their three kiddos.

IMG_5729

They were sooo sweet and have grown up so much since the last time I saw them.

IMG_5731

My dad was loving playing with the kiddos and everyone was exhausted by the end of the day.

IMG_5741

Early Sunday morning we all headed out to take Si for his first trip to the zoo!

IMG_5796

The new Jellyfish exhibit just opened a couple of days ago! Talk about good timing!

IMG_5761

Since it was a day of firsts for him, I thought it was necessary to start him out young with one of my favorite hobbies, smashed penny collecting!

IMG_5758

We ended up with matching elephant smashed pennies! 🙂 Twinsies!

IMG_5762

Then we hit up the play area for some climbing…

IMG_5765

and then made our way over to the petting zoo, where we fed the goats and Si even gave one of the goats a hug. SO SWEET!

IMG_5776

The puffins and…

IMG_5785

the penguins are two of my most favorite animals to check out at the zoo. I’m obsessed!

IMG_5791

The polar bears were putting on quite the show yesterday thrashing around in the water playing with each other.

IMG_5783

After we finished up at the zoo and said our goodbyes, I headed home to finish out my weekend with a little barre3 online and then spent some time checking in with you fine folks!

IMG_5793

Questions of the Day:

What did you do this weekend?

What’s your favorite animal at the zoo?

What workouts did you do this weekend?

Signature

Linking up to Running N ReadingHealthy Diva Life, Her Heartland Soul, Life of MegThe Chicken Chick & Still Being Molly.

 

20 thoughts on “Weekend in Review – Oreo Bottom Cupcakes, Puffins and Family Time!

  1. Those Oreo cupcakes are decadent! I love the penguins at the zoo simply because I think they are hysterical in their movement. Polar bears are adorable, and I really love kangaroos. The Smithsonian in DC spoiled me because they literally had every. single. animal. Even baby Pandas! Hope you have a great Monday!

    Like

  2. I’m so jealous that you have easy access to an aquarium. We don’t have one around here….or any where within an hour. I don’t think. If we do, no one I know talks about it…
    Favorite animal is for sure the monkeys. I actually took most of the week off from workouts after my half marathon on the 24th…time to get moving again!

    Like

    • I never realized it but I’ve grown up my whole life with very easy access to three zoos and two aquariums. I’ve kind of always taken that fact for granted. Congrats on your half and good luck getting back into the swing of things!

      Like

  3. So fun! I love visiting the zoo:) I was at a theme park the other day and they have this kids train that takes you through a zoo. I like it just as much as my niece, and my favorite is to go at night when the animals are more active:)
    I love puffins too, they are cute! When I visited Alaska, I took this tour out near one of the Aleutian islands, and this entire island and the waters around it were just covered in the cute little puffins, big one, baby ones. So fun!

    Like

    • That sounds like so much fun! I love train rides through the zoo, even though the zoos close by here don’t have them.

      I love puffins! They’re so adorable when they splash around in the water!!!

      Like

  4. Okay, I have a confession to make…those “smashed pennies” are one of my favorite things in the world. I’m not sure why I think they’re so cool, I just do – ha! This looks like so much fun! I hope your week is going well and that you have an amazing weekend; thanks so much for participating in the link up, Tricia!

    Like

    • Okay, I’m glad I’m not the only one! They’re my favorite thing to collect while on vacation. I have books full of them! Hope you had a great week! Thanks for hosting the linkup!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Weekend In Review: Fremont 5k, Adventure Run, Books and More! | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

