Weekend In Review – Family, Friends & S’more Popcorn!

 

Happy Monday Friends!

Hopefully you had a great weekend so that having to go back to work on Monday seems a little less unbearable for you! I know this week is going to be a busy one for me, since I have stuff to catch up on from last week still, a team event to help plan and everyday random fires that always seem to come up so I took the weekend as a welcomed break from the hustle for awhile! 🙂

What I thought was going to be a low key weekend, actually turned in to a pretty busy one. I’m not complaining though! I like getting out and doing exploring a little on the weekends!

As always, I’m linking up with Tara at Running N Reading, Katie at Healthy Diva Life and Erin at Her Heartland Soul for their weekend recap linkups. If you have a blog, consider linking up your weekend recap posts too and/or stop by to read what others did over the weekend!

After work on Friday, I tried a new-to-me spin class called “Cycle Burn”, which was described as a spin class combined with intervals of various strength training moves off of the bike. It was a little less exciting (for a lack of a better word) than I thought it was going to be, so I’m not sure if I will end up going back for round two.

After Cycle Burn, I decided to head over to Trader Joe’s to pick up some groceries since honestly there is only so much take out food you can handle before your body (and wallet) start to revolt against you. I know everyone loves to share their new finds and favorites from Trader Joe’s, so I thought I would do a post on my shopping trip later this week, but this Breakfast Trek Mix is always a go to favorite!

IMG_5541

After Barre class on Saturday morning, my parents came up to visit and help me hang up some things at my place. Since we had planned to head to Greenlake for a walk later on, they brought the furry members of our family along for the ride!

I know this doesn’t seem impressive, but Bella has started to learn how to shake so it always makes me smile when she reaches her paw up to me when I see her.

IMG_5589

And Coco, as always, had to roll all around and check out her new digs for the day.

IMG_5593

After we took care of some of the picture hanging business, we headed over to Greenlake for a short walk and some ice cream from the Ben & Jerry’s by the water.

IMG_5605

My parents and the fur babies!

IMG_5595

And our family photo that turned out pretty good, if I do say so myself! 🙂 As always, it was great to see them but sad to see them go. Even though I only live an hour away, it still sucks sometimes to live so far away. Thank goodness I didn’t move halfway across the country! I don’t think I could have handled it!

IMG_5602

On Sunday, my friend, Amber, and I had plans to spend the better part of the day brunching and checking out some of the farmers’ markets close by. First on the agenda was the Wild Mountain Café for brunch, which was recommended to me by another friend.

IMG_5607

Our go to brunch item always seems to be some version of a scramble whenever we go to eat together and this time was no different. I choose a scramble with turkey sausage, zucchini, garlic, onions and some other things that I don’t remember. It sounded delicious on the menu, but was a little lack luster in reality. The true star of the plate was the potato cakes, which I tried for the first time right then and there! They were delicious and a nice surprise that I wasn’t expecting to show up on my plate!

IMG_5608

After brunch, we headed over to the Ballard Farmers’ Market (Ballard is an area of Seattle) where we picked up some flowers for Ambers’ house and checked out the awesome gourmet popcorn shop since she is thinking about having a popcorn bar at her wedding and we NEEDED to do some research!

IMG_5612

I picked up the S’more popcorn and the BBQ Cheddar popcorn for myself. I was a little disappointed by the S’more popcorn when I got it home because the sample I tried in the store had mini chocolate covered marshmallows mixed in with the chocolate covered caramel corn and graham cracker pieces and there wasn’t a mini marshmallow to be found in my bag. #fail

IMG_5616

However the BBQ Cheddar popcorn was absolutely delicious and addicting, even though it sounds kind of disgusting. I would definitely pick some of this up again for a treat! YUM!

IMG_5618

Then we headed over to the Fremont Farmers’ Market (another area of Seattle) and I went home with this fun corkboard that I am planning to use to hang jewelry from in my room. Turns out the guy who made this actually takes custom orders and also posts projects on their Facebook page for sale as soon as they are completed! I’m not going to lie, I’m kind of excited to see what else they come up with!

IMG_5615

After all of that, I came home for a much needed nap, since our day started around the time I usually go to work during the week so there was no sleeping in for this girl all weekend! It was worth it though! 🙂

Questions of the Day:

What fun shenanigans did you get into this weekend?

Where’s your favorite place to shop for home décor items?

Signature

13 thoughts on “Weekend In Review – Family, Friends & S’more Popcorn!

  1. Tricia, I’m just impressed that you actually attended a class called “Cycle Burn;” I’m pretty sure I would have trouble walking in, with a name like that – ha! 😉 You ROCK! Your brunch looks ahhhmazing and what a fun farmer’s market! Wow! You found some great stuff! Thanks so much for linking up with the blog today and I hope your Monday is going well!

    Like

  2. I only live about an hour from my parents as well, and every time I leave them, I get sad. We see each other frequently, but probably not as much as we should living so close. I could never have moved away too far away!!
    Fave home decor store: I actually love Home Goods.

    Like

    • I get so sad too! I love spending as much time with them as possible so it’s said when they leave.

      Ahhhh I’ve never been to Home Goods before! I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Like

  3. Wow! That is a busy weekend and those puppies are cute 🙂 Bella is the name of my mom’s dog too! I also got to see my parents this weekend. Sounds like our weekends were pretty similar except I didn’t make it to the gym, haha.

    I grew up in Canton, TX and it’s known for it’s huge flee market called “First Monday Trade Days.” I get my home decor from there! There is a lot of really cute homemade Etsyish decor. The cork board you got is similar to the stuff at First Monday.

    Like

  4. That corkboard rocks my world.

    I’m a kettlecorn aficionado through and through, but that s’mores popcorn speaks to me…

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

