5 Must Haves For Race Day

Hey there party people!

It’s finally Friday! PHEW! We’ve made it! This has honestly been the longest week ever so I’m happy that the weekend is finally here. I’m excited to spend some time with my friends and family and hopefully the weather cooperates so I can get out and enjoy the sun a little too! Hopefully it’s nice where you are so you can spend some time outside too!

The topic for the Friday Five linkup this week is 5 things about race day, so I chose to talk about my 5 race day must haves because believe it or not, I’m actually a little superstitious about things going JUST RIGHT on the morning of a race. So without further ado, let’s get into my five race day must haves and make sure to share yours below!

1. Good shoes.

IMG_2684

I think this goes without saying but a good pair of shoes can make or break your run on race day. My current favorite pair are the Brooks Glycerin’s. It was love at first wear with these babies and I’ve been hooked ever since!

2. Headphones

IMG_5277

Through I don’t have a particular kind that I’m in love with, I NEED music to help me get through my runs since I’m not one of those people who can run while watching movies in my mind. I am definitely planning on investing in a pair of Bluetooth headphones once I am back up and running. (<– Pun Intended! Sometimes I think I’m soooo funny! 🙂

3. An Awesome Playlist

Sweat-It-Out-Playlist

This goes along with number 2 because for me, a good playlist can totally make my run. I have Spotify Premium, so I am able to easily make playlists of all my favorite songs from my phone. Because of this feature, Spotify is by far one of my favorite apps! Check out some of my playlists here, here and here.

4. A plan

IMG_4988

If possible, I like to have my race packet before the morning of the event so that it’s one less thing I have to worry about on the morning of the race. I also like to pick out my clothes ahead of time, pin on my bib, pre-program the start line address into my GPS and check the weather. I also like to make sure I have English muffins, peanut butter and bananas on hand (my go-to pre race breakfast).

5. A Foam Roller

IMG_3860

I have a love hate relationship with my foam roller. I love how I feel after using it but I hate actually using it. If you’ve ever used a foam roller, you know exactly what I mean! It hurts so good!

Questions of the Day:

What are some of your must haves for race day?

What’s your go-to breakfast for race day?

What’s the next race on your calendar?

Signature

Linking up to Eat Pray Run DC, Mar On The Run, You Signed Up For What?, Fitful Focus, Fitting It All In, Life In LeggingsJill Conyers, Pretty Little Grub, Running 4 Cupcakes, September Farm, The Diary of a Real Housewife, The Good Life, The New Mrs Adventures & XOXO Rebecca!

31 thoughts on “5 Must Haves For Race Day

  1. I’m with you on the headphones and music! I’ve had accidental runs without my music and they don’t feel as good. I can do it, but I don’t want to 🙂 As far as my next race, I have a local 5k tomorrow that’s very low key and casual.

    Like

    • GOOD LUCK! you’re going to kill it! I definitely can run without it and sometimes it’s awesome but I prefer to run with music!

      Like

    • I ALWAYS forget to bring my headphones. I’ve actually stopped to pick some up on the way because I couldn’t go without!

      I’m so happy you liked the playlist and enjoyed it at work! That’s awesome! 😃

      You’ve seriously made my day! I can’t wait to respond! Thank you so much! It’s a huge honor! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. hmmm let’s see:
    What are some of your must haves for race day?
    Depending on the length of the race, some type of energy chew or gel!
    What’s your go-to breakfast for race day?
    Oatmeal with banana and almond butter 🙂
    What’s the next race on your calendar?
    I have a 10K at the end of the month

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  3. Hey! Just found you through the link-up. First of all, GO SEAHAWKS! Second, I am working on my race playlist this weekend, so thanks for the good tips here! Have a great weekend.

    Like

    • OH MY GOSH! If I forgot them for a marathon I would try to buy some from a booth beforehand or else I probably wouldn’t make it through. Yikes!

      Like

  4. I have a “race” sports bra I always wear. I don’t know why, but I have to wear it for races. Music, too, is really important unless I’m running with someone. I also have race day pants. Ones I know don’t cause chaffing.

    Like

    • Those are all great things! What sports bra do you like for race day? I’m looking for some new ones but haven’t found any yet.

      Like

  5. Yes to the foam roller – I have the same one! Great picture of you jumping in your good shoes. I would have to second the headphones.. that is one item I always forget!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

