My Healthy Living Inspiration

Hey guys!

Remember me?!?! I know I keep apologizing for being MIA lately. I’ve been spending the last couple weeks trying to figure out what my new normal is between working at least 9 hour days, while still trying to fit in time for friends, family, outings with coworkers, workouts, blogging and SLEEP.

Since today is the start of a new week (spoiler alert: I don’t write these posts at 7am in the morning when they go live, I actually write them the night before.), and since I feel like I’m getting a little bit of a better grasp of things at work, I’m working to reincorporate things like blogging and working out back into my schedule.

For the last 3+ weeks, I’ve been so busy with packing, moving and starting a new job that my workouts have gone to the wayside. I’ve only been averaging about 1 workout a week, compared to the 4+ I was getting in before everything went crazy. Even though I feel like I spend basically my whole day walking (I seriously need to start tracking the miles I walk each day because it’s insane), I can tell the lack of regular workouts has started to catch up to me (not just physically, but mentally too). So my new goal is to work to incorporate it into my crazy schedule.

Now that long winded prologue brings me to todays’ topic for The Fit Dish with Jill Conyers and Jessica at The Fit Switch which is “Who In Your Life Inspires You To Live Healthy?”

Processed with Moldiv

There definitely are a ton of people that inspire me to live healthy, but for me, the main thing that inspires me to live healthy is not a person, but progress. Confused yet? Let me explain by sharing a short story.

images

Source here.

Last night after work, I decided I wasn’t going to veg out on my couch and yell curse words at my TV since my cable wasn’t working properly yet. I decided that a more productive thing to do would be to hit up the gym, even though I was tired and hungry. I could have come up with a ton of different reasons to stay home, but I decided to lace up instead.

running

Source here.

I went to the small gym in my apartment, did a quick warm up, followed by some stretches and  decided to see how far I could make it on the treadmill before having to stop from knee pain. I started with no expectations, but just decided to see what the day had in store for me. On top of my knee pain, I have been having really bad side stitches when I’ve been running, so I really wasn’t expecting to make it too far before having to stop to take a quick walking break.

untitled

I ended up making it 2.86 miles before I had to stop for a quick stretch break so I could finish out my 3.1 miles of RUNNING! This was beyond a huge mile stone for me since the last time I was able to consecutively run 3.1 miles was March 2014 when I managed to take first place in my age group in a local 5k.

unnamed

Now I will say that the super cute guy on the treadmill next to me did provide a little motivation to keep going since it kind of seems like you’re racing the people next to you on the treadmill (please tell me I’m not the only one that does this!). I did however realize I was completely off thinking I was keeping pace with him when I realized he was running sub 7 minute miles and I was running sub 10 minute miles, but I digress.

images3PGKFRZU

Source here.

The real thing that kept me going last night on the treadmill and the thing that inspires me to live healthy is seeing my own progress. I love the feeling of knowing that I am stronger and can make it further than I was able to just a couple short weeks before. My progress is something that I alone have control over. It’s proof that hard work and dedication really do pay off and that you’re capable of doing whatever you want as long as you put in the effort. No one can make me go to the gym or run an extra mile when I feel like stuffing my face in a bowl of froyo. I’m the only one that can make that decision for me.

Questions of the Day:

What is your healthy living motivation?

How do you fit your workouts in, despite a busy schedule?

What’s one fun plan you have for this week?

Signature

 

29 thoughts on “My Healthy Living Inspiration

    • Thanks so much lady! I miss you too! We need to have a playdate stat. I know you’re crazy busy, but hopefully we can fit it in soon. I miss you!!!!

      Like

  1. Yes!!! —> “I’m the only one that can make that decision for me.”

    We have to choose between making an excuse to exercise or eat healthy… or not. Some days are harder than others to make the right choice! Example: I ate a doughnut and a half today and rationalized it because I’m pregnant. Was that a healthy choice? Nope… but I’m choosing not to beat myself up and I’m making the healthy choice next time! Decisions, decisions.

    Love your treadmill story. When I worked out in the local gym, I had such a hard time not feeling competitive with whoever was next to me! When I was single, a cute guy was HUGE motivation to run faster and longer 🙂
    Amy @ http://www.livinglifetruth.com/

    Like

    • I definitely think treating yourself is okay once in awhile as long as it’s in moderation. My jaw dropped when I read this because I had a doughnut and a half yesterday too because someone brought them into the office. Not a healthy choice, but it’s always good to have balance too! 🙂

      Cute guys have no idea how much of a motivation they are for running and exercising if you’re next to them at the gym. It’s crazy! If only the one from the other day was single! 🙂

      Like

  2. I feel ya on writing posts before their time! ;P I schedule most of mine a month in advance, and update the night before if there are any pertinent real-time things to add, haha.

    Seeing my own progress also keeps me motivated! 😀

    Moving is hard, and settling into a new job and a new space takes time! I hope things calm down for you soon! ❤

    Like

    • Progress is such a great motivator! ❤

      It all does take time and I'm crazy impatient, so it's been a struggle to say the least. I'm hoping to get some posts written this weekend so I can slowly get back into the swing of things because I miss blogging and the blogging community! I miss our little chats! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Me too! I’m glad you’re back-ish though and hope you’re getting the hang of things over there! I have a 2-week rotation scheduled somewhere in/around Yakima in late September/early October! (Not sure if that’s super far from you, but if it’s not, it’d be cool to meet up with you! :]

        Like

    • THAT IS AWESOME! Great job sticking with yoga and your goals! You’re definitely going to get there and I can’t wait to hear all about it. How exciting! 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful post, Tricia! Sounds like one full plate, and you are doing a great job!!! Congrats on that treadmill run. WHat an amazing feeling! You’re inspiring me, lady! Good luck finding the right schedule for you. I am FINALLY getting a decent grasp on mine, and it feel wonderful!

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I really appreciate it! 🙂 I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one struggling to get a grasp on their schedule!

      Thanks as always for being so inspiring and uplifting!

      Like

  4. Ugh – totally get the too busy days! Lately, I’ve been having to workout at 5am or way late at night (see: 9pm) jut to fit it in. Heck, if I can get in a quick, 20 minute run in over lunch though, I’ll take it!!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    Also, do you have a post that dives into The Fit Dish? I’ve seen it on a few blogs, and now I’m intrigued. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s awesome! I’m going to have to start doing that too. Even though I’m definitely not a person who likes to get up early and work out in the morning, I think that might be the solution to my problem. Now if I can just make myself get out of bed to do it! 🙂 You’re doing a great job making exercise a priority and fitting it all in, so keep it up!

      As for The Fit Dish, you can read more about it here: http://jillconyers.com/the-fit-dish/

      Enjoy!

      Like

  5. My healthy living motivation is that I want to be a good example to my girls “and” live a long healthy life….running of course! Sometimes fitting in my workout means I have to get on the treadmill after hours when everyone else is in bed or just before bedtime. Today was one of those days and I was actually yawning while walking. I was thankful it was a walk day on my schedule. Congrats on the run! I saw your pic on instagram and was so happy for you!

    Like

    • Awww you’re so sweet! I was able to do the run without hurting but then the next day I could barely walk at work so I’m going to have to take it back a little bit again but it was good to know it was possible.

      That’s a great healthy living inspiration! I’m sure your girls will be doing kids miles and 5ks with you in no time! 🙂 Keep up the great work lady! You’re doing a great job!

      Like

  6. Seriously, progress is the greatest motivator!! With studying for the NASM exam, I’m with you on having to rearrange things and make some changes to make everything fit into a day. It’s just one hour of studying a day but as difficult as it’s been to make it work you’d think it was trying to add 10 hours of studying a day. Ugh! One of the hardest parts is trying to get my brain in blogging mode at night. I’m still stuck on morning blogging brain ha!

    We’ll both find a schedule that works 🙂

    Like

    • You’re going to rock the NASM! One hour of studying doesn’t seem like a lot, but it definitely will throw off your whole schedule. When do you take the exam?

      I have been having the problem of being stuck on morning blogging also. For the most part, I wrote my blogs during the day but now I don’t have time so I have to write them at night or on the weekend and it’s been an adjustment for sure. I’m always too exhausted to even look at a computer by the time I get home from work. Eventually we will both figure it out though. 🙂

      Like

  7. Hang in there, friend!! I know once you get into the groove of your new routine, exercise will be consistent again 🙂 my sister and I are going to look at a wedding venue tomorrow, woohoo! Hopefully after that Ray and I can make a decision about where we’re going to tie the knot.

    Like

    • Thanks so much lady! I appreciate your kind words! 🙂

      Good luck in finding a wedding venue! I can’t wait to hear more about your wedding planning! How exciting!

      Like

  8. Oh ya, racing the person on the treadmill next to you is a must, and if someone says they don’t do it or don’t think about it, that is a lie, LOL
    Heck, I do this too at the high school track too. Even if someone passes me, I will make sure I keep going even when they stop to walk, and I do everything to make it look effortless, LOL Because in my mind I think they will be like, oh I am faster for a few laps, but she’s running lots, LOL I’m a dork!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

