Weekend in Review – Family, Friends, Moving & 5ks!

Well hello there lovely people!

I hope you all had a great weekend and that you were able to squeeze in a run or two with some friends. Since I’ve been a little MIA lately with all the craziness of wrapping up things at my old job, starting a new one, moving and running a 5k, I thought I’d do a little recap of what’s been going on around here from late last week through the weekend, so that we could get caught up. Since I’ve got a lot to catch you up on, let’s get into it!

On Thursday night, my dad and I spent a little quality father/daughter bonding time driving around town picking up furniture for my new apartment. I had most of the things I was going to need for my new place already, so there was just a few pieces I needed to pick up to get everything all set up and fully functional come Saturday.

After a couple hours of shopping around, we hit up the local favorite Tacoma burger joint, Frisco Freeze, for some insanely unhealthy, but delicious, burgers (and chicken strips for me) for dinner. It seemed like a fitting place to go because for nostalgic purposes. It was one of my dad’s hangouts when he was younger, so it was like a little walk down memory lane… until the kid who rung us up forgot the fries. Then it was bad news bears.

IMG_4926

One thing that’s funny about moving is that you realize a lot about yourself by the things (and people) you surround yourself with. For instance, when your nail polish collection takes up not one, but two plastic containers to transport it, you may have a problem.

IMG_4934

Or when the shoes you make sure to meticulously pack first are your running shoes and they take up over half of a huge box (this picture doesn’t even show all of them), you may be a running shoe hoarder. I’ll spare you some of the other things I realized, but I think you still get the picture! 🙂

IMG_4937

On Friday morning, I came into all these sweet goodies and beautiful flowers on my desk from one of my favorite co-workers. I’m definitely going to miss hanging out with her everyday!

IMG_4964

Look how pretty the flowers are! I LOVE them!

IMG_4965

Then I went out to lunch to celebrate with a couple of my coworkers at our favorite lunch spot.

IMG_4967

Then after all the fun festivities at work (and some crazy drama), it was moving day! I took some of your advice to hire movers and I honestly don’t think I could ever go back to moving myself again. It was so nice to only have to focus on unpacking for the day. I honestly don’t think we would have been able to get everything unpacked and set up if it wasn’t for the quick work of the movers. They were definitely worth the investment. I didn’t get a real good photo of the box explosion that happened when we started to unpack, but here’s some of the mess.

IMG_4971

We managed to get every single box emptied and put away all in one day. (Thank you Mom, Dad, Aunt Kathy and Uncle Bob for all of your help! You’re amazing!)

IMG_4972

We wore my dad (left) and uncle (right) out by the end of the day!

IMG_4975

Now this is where we were clearly a little exhausted and started having crazy ideas of fun things to do. My Aunt finds it hilarious that I bought a bike and haven’t gotten the hang of riding it yet so I challenged her to ride it down my hallway, since she thought it was SOOOOOO easy to ride on skinny bike tires. Turns out not so easy. I will give her the benefit of the doubt since the bike is a little tall for her…

IMG_4981

I didn’t get any fun photos of my mom and I during the move, but my mom was a total rockstar getting food for everyone and making multiple trips to The Home Depot with my Uncle for things we forgot and I became the master cardboard recycler and drawer packer by the end of the day! Then on Sunday morning, my friend Jenica and I headed out into the rainy downpour for the St. Patrick’s Day Dash that goes through Downtown Seattle.

IMG_4984

I’ll be posting a race recap on this later in the week, but for now, I’ll leave you with a rainy post run photo of Jenica and I sporting our green Brooks sweat bands!

IMG_4991

Questions of the Day:

Did you race this weekend?

What is the weather like where you are?

Have you taken a trip down memory lane recently? If so, what was it?

What did you do this weekend?

Signature

Linking up to Running N Reading, Healthy Diva Life, Her Heartland Soul and Life of Meg.

 

8 thoughts on “Weekend in Review – Family, Friends, Moving & 5ks!

  1. Sounds like a great (and busy) weekend! Congrats on the move and I couldn’t agree more with the movers, we will NEVER move again without hiring movers, it literally changed our lives and is worth every penny! I had to laugh at your pic of the nail polish and shoes because I had similar boxes with shoes and handbags! You can never have too many, right?

    Like

  2. Cute race photo!
    Sounds like you had a crazy busy week! But I had to smile at the nail polish and shoe box, and I have quite a bit of those too and if I moved I think I could easily fill a box or tote or two, too.. LOL

    Like

  3. I’m so glad you survived the move! So many big changes all at once. I’m really excited for you.

    Those nailpolish bottles, though… You might need an intervention.

    And you and Jenica look too cute for having just run a race in the pouring rain!

    Like

  4. Pingback: #IAmWomen: The Fit Dish Interview | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

