Link Love 03.06.15 + You’re A Runner…

Hey there!

Happy Sunday! Man this has been a crazy busy weekend! I feel like I haven’t even had a break to relax and now it’s almost time to go back to work again. Boooo!!! I hope your weekend has been a little more relaxing than mine has! I guess sometimes you’ve just gotta power through and do what needs to be done, right?

Anyways… let’s move on to something a little more positive. There’s always a huge debate on what “makes” a runner. I’ve touched on it here before when I wrote about what it means to “earn” your race medal but it’s been awhile since I’ve talked about it. When I came across this quote, it seemed like the perfect time to talk about this again. 

IMG_4759

Source here.

When I first started running, I had a hard time calling myself a runner because I hadn’t been at it for years, hadn’t went though all the ups and downs of dealing with injuries, I hadn’t trained for a half or a full marathon and I wasn’t familiar with all the terminology (fartleks? repeats? what?). It kind of seemed like I was trying to group myself with people that had way more experience than I did and like I was taking something away from them by comparing myself and my minimal experience with them.

Now that I’ve been at it for awhile, I’ve come to realize that being a runner has nothing to do with all of the things that I originally thought came with calling yourself a runner. Being a runner is more like a feeling than anything else. It’s about the feeling you get during a run, being g-run-mpy when you miss a run, the excitement you get from hitting a new speed/distance goal and the fact that your idea of a fun vacation almost always turns into a runcation. If this sounds like you, than you’re a runner. Welcome to the club! 🙂

Here’s some things you may have missed on A Couple Of Dashes this week:

Weekend In Review – Hot Choco 5k & Apartment Shopping!

Living The Sweaty Life with Strala Seattle & ClassPass

Hot Chocolate 5k Race Recap

Would You Still Be My Friend If You Knew…

5 Things Friday – Things I’m Loving Now!

 

Thing you might have missed in the blogosphere that I enjoyed this week:

Hot Yoga Tips For Beginners via Jill Conyers – Love these tips for a successful hot yoga practice.

Motivation Monday – Thanks Ashton Kutcher via Hello To Fit – Opportunity looks like a lot of hard work.

Are You Being The Best Version of You? via Jill Conyers – This is always something I try to keep in mind, so this was a nice reminder!

idrinksant Antioxident Protein Bomb Smoothie Recipe via Fairyburger – I definitely ordered some sant after reading this and can’t wait to give it a try!

Single Serving Chicken Stuffed Pepper via Lake Shore Runner – I will definitely be making this soon!

Cake Batter Truffle Bars via Bitz and Giggles – I love anything cake batter and these have sprinkles so these are a must in my book!

Cake Batter Smoothie Recipe via Run, Eat, Repeat – See note above! 🙂

Secret Ingredient Chocolate Smoothie via Running with Spoons – You will not believe what the secret is!

Cinnamon Chex Pancake Recipe via Run, Eat, Repeat – These look delicious!

St. Patrick’s Day Puppy Chow via My Big Fat Happy Life – Such a cute twist on traditional puppy chow!

The Skinny Confidential Book Review & GIVEAWAY via Fitful Focus – If you didn’t win my Skinny Confidential book giveaway, there’s still hope! Head over to Fitful Focus and enter to win!

Questions of the Day:

What are your thoughts on what “makes” a runner?

Have you read anything cool this week that you want to share? 

What are your plans for today?

-More apartment shopping today. Hopefully I find something soon!

Signature

 

18 thoughts on “Link Love 03.06.15 + You’re A Runner…

  1. Thanks for the link love, and I’m definitely with you on cake batter! <3! I made a cake batter smoothie this weekend too, but it definitely wasn't as healthy! (Yay for clearing out more of my freezer/fridge/pantry though!?)

    Cinnamon Chex Pancakes sound delicious! *-*

    Like

  2. I’m feeling very legit about my status as a runner since my Chicago marathon last fall. I ran one marathon before that but it wasn’t good and I felt like I didn’t earn bragging rights. How sad is that?

    Speaking of books, I am hosting a running book club on my blog. We’re reading Honey do you need a ride? Confessions of a fat runner by Jennifer Graham. It’s cute and funny. The author is going to answer some questions I sent her. My review goes live next Saturday and you can link up your review or post in the comments. The link up will stay live for 2 weeks so there’s plenty of time to participate! I”ll be hosting once per month, so if you want to jump in at any time, you can!

    oldrunningmom.blogspot.com/bookclub

    Like

    • I know exactly what you mean though! I felt the same way after my first half. It’s so sad though because no matter how good or bad the run was, we still finished it so we still earned the bragging rights!

      Thanks for sharing about your book club! I’m definitely interested in joining this in the future! What a great idea!

      Like

  3. I think that if you run, regardless of the distance or your pace, you are a runner. I had the mentality when I first started running that I wasn’t a runner until I did a certain distance, but now that I have been running a while, my perspective has changed. When friends of mine say they only run 5ks and aren’t really runners, I always correct them, if you run, you are a runner, its pretty simple in my mind, but of course, everyone has their own definition and we are always harder on ourselves than we are on others!

    Like

    • Very true. The people around me started calling myself a runner before I even felt comfortable calling myself a runner. Everyone definitely has their own definition, but I believe if you run and enjoy it, than you’re a runner. End of story! 🙂

      Like

  4. Great post! I’ve been running since I was 9, so I never really thought about this topic. That was until my cousin, who started running and even ran a half marathon made a comment on my FB page one day, asking a question, but starting out “I know I am not a real runner yet, but….” That took me back, and I emailed her privately and told her, exactly why she was a runner the first day she put those shoes on, and every day she does after.
    It amazes me how so many people still downplay their accomplishments. I believe as long as your running, no matter speed or size, you can call yourself a runner. If someone puts anyone else down for not being a runner, and they think they are, I no longer think of them as a runner, just a poor sport:)

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m glad you were able to explain to your cousin why she is already a runner because she definitely deserves to call herself that! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. This hits so close to home for me! I didn’t start calling myself a real runner until my first half marathon, a year after I laced up my running shoes for the first time, because I wasn’t as fast or experienced or familiar with the terminology. But I’m proud to call myself a runner!

    Like

    • I think after my first half, I really started considering myself a runner, even though I had been in love with it from the beginning. Something about that first medal made it feel okay to me to call myself a runner after that. I’m glad you feel okay calling yourself a runner now! 🙂

      Like

    • I completely agree! I think liking it is necessary. So many people do it just for the bling but hate every minute of it. I don’t think that’s what being a runner is about at all. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

