Living The Sweaty Life with Strala Seattle & ClassPass

Hey there!

Last week I was invited to a ClassPass event at Strala Seattle and since I always love checking out new-to-me classes, I was excited to give it a try. I invited my friend Jenica to join me and we met up after work for a little exercise induced stress release.

I did just enough research to find out that we would be attending a yoga class, but didn’t do any digging after that. I figured I’d been to enough yoga classes by now so how different could this class be from any I’ve attended in the past? Boy was I wrong!

IMG_4608

As soon as the class started, I knew it was unlike any other yoga class I had ever attended before. “Lips Are Moving” by Meghan Trainor was blasting over the speakers and the instructor wasn’t leading from the front of the room, but in different spots throughout the room over the course of the class. We were also moving in and out of poses much quicker than I am used to, so to say I was a little confused would have been an understatement (not in a bad way though!).

photo

Turns out, Strala is an actual type of yoga that was founded by Tara Stiles that focuses on “moving over posing and helping people find their own way into their own bodies, with a calm ease carried through easy and challenging things alike,” according to the Strala Seattle website. That definitely would have cleared things up if I had read a little more of the “about” section on the website before the event!

IMG_4610

I was lucky enough to be next to one of the instructors during the class, so she helped walk me though what I needed to do when and even helped me hold crow pose for the very first time (even if it was only for a few seconds!). This was one of the things on my list of goals for 2015, so I was beyond excited for this! Now I just have to perfect my moves a little more so I can hold it for a longer amount of time! It was definitely very helpful to have a little one on one instruction from a friendly instructor!

What I loved about Strala yoga was that it was much more laid back and less serious than more traditional yoga classes I’ve taken before. It seemed more like a stretching/dancing party with friends and I found myself laughing and smiling a ton throughout the class. I was worried that it was more fun and less workout, but I was definitely feeling it the next day! Who said working out can’t be fun?!?!

IMG_4614

After we were done with the class, we headed out to the after party that had food and drinks from Seattle Salads, Kevita Probiotics and Zico. Lorna Jane was also hosting a trunk show where you could try on and purchase clothes at a discount. SCORE! I have to say that the popcorn stole the show! It was popped with coconut oil and seasoned with salt and garlic and it tasted exactly like movie theater popcorn, but without all the gross chemicals! I can’t wait to try this one at home!

IMG_4607

ClassPass also gave us these super cool “living the sweaty life” swag bags that I’ve been toting all over town since I got it. Please ignore the obnoxious face I’m making in this photo!

IMG_4615

Ever since this class, I’ve been itching to go back! I definitely plan on dragging Jenica back with me again soon! Thanks ClassPass and Strala Seattle for introducing me to Strala!

IMG_4623

Questions of the Day:

Have you ever been to a Strala Yoga class before?

Have you heard of Strala Yoga before?

What’s your favorite type of yoga?

Signature

 

Linking up with Jill Conyers, The Fit Switch, Lake Shore Runner, Live Randomly Simple The Dwelling Tree.

25 thoughts on “Living The Sweaty Life with Strala Seattle & ClassPass

    • Me neither! I didn’t know it was a “thing” until I started realizing it was WAY different than anything I’d done before and figured out that it was an actual type of yoga. Definitely would have been good to know beforehand so I wasn’t so confused! haha

      Like

    • It was an absolute blast! I think you’d really like Strala too since you enjoy dance classes! I was a little nervous going there but it definitely helped that my friend was there with me so we could make fools of ourselves together! 🙂

      Like

  1. Holy moly, that sounds right up my alley! Wow, I love all the positivity of that class, the happiness and warm fuzzies! RIGHT ON. SO happy you got to go. What a blast. I think I will have to make up my own version, because we don’t have one. And the music?! Never thought of combining yoga with upbeat music. FUN! Thanks Tricia! #fitfamlove

    Like

    • Yeah it’s definitely right up your alley! It was an absolute blast and nothing I would have ever thought to do before but now I’m hooked! #fitfamlove

      Like

    • Good to hear! That’s so odd! I don’t know why it wasn’t working! Eeeekkk!!!

      It’s a ton of fun! I’d definitely recommend Strala! 🙂

      Like

  2. That yoga class sounds like a blast! I love non-traditional yoga and think that this would be a really fun studio to join. I got to Seattle a lot for work (I live in Alaska) and I’ll have to remember this next time I’m down there!

    Like

    • Me too! It’s so much fun! You’d love it! Definitely check it out next time you’re in the area! Let me know and I’ll join you!!! ❤

      Like

  3. I love all yoga! Or I should say all types of yoga that I’ve tried. I haven’t heard of Strala Yoga. I was just contacted by ClassPass. Now to decide what classes I want to try with it.

    #fitfamlove

    Like

    • Hahahahahaha!!! The only kind that I have found so far that I don’t like is traditional Bikram yoga because there’s too much talking and I can’t focus!!! You’re working with CP too?!?! You’re going to love it!!! 🙂

      Like

    • I know! CP didn’t work for me either until I got a new job in the Seattle area so there are a ton more studios and times to choose from now.

      Like

  4. I love Tara Stiles and have always wanted to try Strala. I knew it was in NYC, but had no idea it was also in Seattle. Hopefully she will bring it to Texas too!

    Like

  5. I haven’t done yoga in years, but I really need to give it a try again. Thanks for sharing at Totally Terrific Tuesday. Be sure to stop by again this week…the party is going on now!

    Like

    • I love yoga, but always have hard time fitting it in. I’m trying to make it more of a priority now. Thanks for hosting and for stopping by!

      Like

  6. Omgosh I love your review on Strala! I am going Saturday the 14th to strong!!! I wish I would have known about this event! I was hoping to see you at the #Iamwomen event in Lorna Jane Seattle! Maybe you ladies will let me know the next ones you try and I can use my class pass too! Had it a whole month and havent tried anything yet 😦 my schedule got full of round town junk ughhh. I wanna go #sweaxplore all the fun stuff! xoxo Carleeh @mamarazza

    Like

    • I love #sweaxplore! So cute! I wasn’t able to make it this weekend because I had to go apartment shopping, but I would love to meet up for a class or two! I will have CP again starting April 6th so I’m available after that! 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Ultimate Tea Date – April 2015 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

