5 Races On My Bucket List

Hey there!

Man, this week has flown by! Sheeh! I’m excited for the weekend because to say that this week has been crazy stressful would be the understatement of the century. But enough about that and on to the fun stuff!

This week, I’m linking up with Courtney from Eat Pray Run DC, Mar from Mar On The Run and Cynthia from You Signed Up For What? for my very first time participating in the Friday Five Link Up! This weeks’ topic is “5 Races to Run in 2015”, but being the rebel student that I am, I’m already breaking the rules and putting my own twist on the topic. I decided to go with “5 Races On My Bucket List” instead, because I don’t know how many actual races I’ll be running this year because of my accident. So let’s get into my race bucket list!

5. Hot Chocolate 5k

untitled

Source here.

I’ve always wanted to do this run because it has to do with two of my favorite things: running + chocolate! I mean, what’s not to love?!?! I’ve missed out on this run the past two years because something always seems to come up, but this year, I’m going to be walking it with my mom and meeting up with my friend, Jenica, for photos (she’s running it)!

I was originally planning on doing the 15k because I really wanted to get the inaugural run medal, but after my accident, that’s just out of the question for this year. Next year, I’m definitely going to be participating though!

4. Firecracker 5000

Firec2014webbanner2

Source here.

I love everything about this run! It takes place at 11:59pm on the 3rd of July so you’re running into the 4th of July in Downtown Seattle by the Space Needle. Talk about an awesome view! I’ve never done a night run before, so I really want to check this one off my race bucket list. I spectated this race last year and the energy was amazing! What a fun way to kick off the 4th of July festivities!

3. Rock ‘n Roll Seattle Half Marathon

untitled

Source here.

This race has been on my bucket list for as long as I can remember. I feel like at some point, all runners participate in a Rock ‘n Roll run and I can’t wait to run along the streets of Downtown Seattle, by the Space Needle and along the waterfront. To top it all off, my friend, Jenica, has been bitten hard by the running bug lately and signed up to run this in June. I’m hoping I’m well enough to join her!

2. Wine and Dine Half Marathon

untitled

Source here.

After participating in my first Disney run a little over a year ago, I couldn’t wait to do another one. Wine & Dine is on the top of my list! When you combine the fun of a Disney run with an exclusive Finish Line Party at the Epcot® International Food & Wine Festival, you’ve got a winning combination in my book! I’ve also got my eye on the Coast to Coast medal, so I’ll be pairing this race with another one at Disneyland in the same year! So much RunDisney fun!

1. Nike Women’s Half Marathon in DC

dc-desktop-header

Source here.

I know this is one of those runs on everyone’s “must run” list because of the Tiffany’s bling you get at the finish line. While I’m a fan of fine jewelry, that actually has nothing to do with the reason why I want to run this (Well, maybe it does a little!). I’m on a mission to convince my cousin who lives on the East Coast to run this with me as a cousins bonding experience. I know you have to enter a lottery drawing to gain entry, so it may be hard for us to be able to do it together, but a girl can dream, right?!!?

Questions of the Day:

What are some of the races on your bucket list?

What are your plans for the weekend?

Signature

Also linking up to Fitting It All In, Housewife Glamour, Jill Conyers, Running 4 Cupcakes & September Farm.

 

37 thoughts on “5 Races On My Bucket List

  1. I love the picture of that panda! Seriously–could it be any cuter?

    I hate to break it to you, but there won’t be a Nike DC Half this year; they’ve moved that race to Toronto and turned it into a 10K. 😦 You should try to get into the Nike Women’s Half in SF, though!

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to do Hot Chocolate and the Disney Princess Half. I could probably get to Hot Chocolate in Philly next year, but the Princess Half will definitely take some planning. I’m hoping to combine it with taking my daughter to Disney World either next year or 2017.

    I’m totally bummed that the Nike Women’s race is no longer in DC, I’m not sure why it’s not happening there, but it looked like a great event. I hope it comes back again.

    Like

    • Yeah that’s the problem with the Disney runs. They go on sale so far in advance and sell out so quickly that it’s impossible to do them on a whim.

      I hope they bring it back too! I’m sad to hear they moved it!

      Like

    • That’s too bad! Did you find the course to be challenging? I have a feeling it includes a lot of hills!

      Hopefully you’re able to participate next year!

      Like

    • My thoughts exactly! It’s always fun to fit in a race on a vacation! If you make it out here for a race, let me know!!!

      RnR Virginia Beach sounds awesome! Good luck!

      Like

  3. Nike Women’s Marathon (half) is the one and only race I’ve ever run! I did it in SF and it was a lot of fun! (But oh, those hills…)

    Tough Mudder is on my bucket list, and I think I’m gonna have to add Savage Race to it as well! :]

    Like

    • Very true! I’ve done a couple of night runs and didn’t have a good experience at either of them. I’m still holding out hope that there will be a good one soon though! 🙂

      Like

    • Oh yeah. I’ve wanted to do it for a long time but just have never been able to. Maybe I will be better by the time it rolls around this year so I can run it too! 🙂 We need to start doing some runs together STAT!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Hot Chocolate 5k Race Recap | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

