The Gift of .75 Miles

If you would have asked me a couple years ago if I would have been excited to run .75 miles on the dreadmill in 8:01 minutes, I probably would have laughed at you. Back then, if I was going to go for a run, it was going to be at minimum 3.1 miles at a pace of at least 8:30 minutes per mile. I rarely ever ran on the dreadmill because I preferred to run on either the beautiful trail along the water by my office or on the convenient streets of my neighborhood. I liked to run on a terrain similar to what I would be running on during the races I used to compete in EVERY.SINGLE.WEEKEND.

Fast forward to the present where I’m still rehabbing from a car accident that took more of a toll than anyone would have guessed. Only this week, almost two months after my accident, have I been able to start running again. Now, that .75 miles at a previously slow-for-me pace no longer seen laughable to me, but more like a gift.

IMG_4368

They always say you never realize how much you love something until it’s gone and that couldn’t be more true for me and my relationship with running. I never realized how much I loved being alone with my thoughts, listening to the sound of my feet hitting the pavement (aka treadmill in this scenario) and watching the miles add up on my GPS watch until this week when my physical therapist gave me the green light to try .75 easy, flat miles.

IMG_4369

I can tell you everything about those .75 miles, from what I was thinking about, how it felt and who was on the treadmills around me. I carefully selected two of my favorite workout songs, “Comeback Story” by Kings of Leon and “Love Runs Out” by OneRepublic, to listen to and got down to business. It was clear to me that I wasn’t going to be able to keep up with my previous pace, but that no longer mattered. What mattered was I was there… and I was running.

IMG_4372

My return to running is going to be a smart one. I plan to take it easy and not push my speed or mileage and work closely with my therapist to find a plan that’s best for me. I also plan to continue to incorporate cross training, yoga, stretching and some quality time with my foam roller into my routine.

I’m happy to report that I’ve been able to stick to my plan so far. I cross trained in physical therapy 3 times this week, went to spin class 2 times and did yoga once so far. I stopped running at exactly my prescribed .75 easy, flat miles and immediately went home for some bonding time with my foam roller and compression socks (the compression socks weren’t really necessary, it was just an excuse to wear my new pair!). I want to be able to continue to run for a long time, so I’m  going to take all precautions in need to make sure that happens!

Questions of the Day:

Have you ever rehabbed from an injury?

Are you able to take it slow or do you usually do too much too soon when it comes to exercising?

Signature

Linking up to Running RachelJill ConyersThe Fit Switch, Lake Shore Runner, MCM Mama Runs & The Dwelling Tree.

19 thoughts on “The Gift of .75 Miles

  1. Congrats Tricia, so happy for you. I can only imagine how hard that was for you. When I was injured (still kinda am) it aggravated me to run because it hurt so much. I appreciate good runs so much more now because I know the bad runs can pop up anytime.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! I keep thinking that if you can do it, so can I! You went through surgery and have now been able to run long runs so I’m hoping I’m able to get back to racing too!

      Like

  2. I am so happy for you!!! I couldn’t run this week due to a horrible virus, but today I ran 7 miles on the treadmill. It was glorious even though it was on the mill.
    I hope you continue to heal and get stronger and run more and more.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I hope you’re able to continue to run too! 7 miles after being sick is very impressive! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

      Like

    • It really is! I’m trying to stay injury free going forward so I don’t have to go through it again! I hope you’re having a great weekend!

      Like

  3. Knowing when to cut back in your running is so hard. I always think I can do more than what I can too soon and then usually feel it later.I have been taking it easy myself doing shorter runs and paying closer attention to my IT band that has been giving me problems lately.

    Like

  4. So happy for you! 😀 I feel ya on getting back from injuries. I’m kinda terrible about giving myself a rest, but I do try my best to take a break if I really need to, especially if I’ve injured something. :[ I’m glad you’re getting back into it slowly! ❤

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I’m absolutely the worst about giving myself time to rest too, so that’s why I’m really watching it this time around. I’ve been good so far too!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay for getting to run! I’ve come back from injury twice and had to take it super slow and do a lot of run/walk to eventually get back. And 2 years later, my speed is still slower than I’d like. Hope things continue to go well on your road back to running.

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I really appreciate it! I hope you continue to improve also. I know how difficult it can be to be at a speed or distance that is less than you were before. Keep sticking to it and I know you’ll get back there! 🙂

      Like

  6. Haven’t had a serious injury yet – usually just nagging pains that go away with some rest. In all honesty, I usually like taking a break for a few days. 😉 But I know when the time comes that I have a legitimate injury, I will be chomping at the bit to get back to it!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

