How I Overcome Unhealthy Temptations and Cravings

I’m going to let you in on my dirty little secret here. Are you ready? Moderation. I love love love junk food. Froyo is practically it’s own food group in my diet during the warmer months of the year. Now I’m not saying that’s something that I’m proud of, but it is what it is. If I want something, I’m most likely going to eat it. Now that doesn’t mean I’m going to smash my face into a big bowl of froyo and go to town or that I’m going to make a pit stop at Menchies EVERY.SINGLE.TIME. the thought of froyo crosses my mind either. It means if I’m REALLY craving something, I’m going to eat it and move on with my life.

photo 2

That being said, I do tend to go for QUALITY splurges. I make sure to get the good stuff, instead of snacking on three month old Halloween candy I found in the bottom of a drawer at work. If I’m craving chocolate, I’ll usually hold out for truffles from See’s instead of a no name chocolate bar from the bank drive thru or if I’m craving hot chocolate, I’ll make sure to swing by my favorite coffee stand, instead of the more convenient espresso stand that doesn’t make it with the soy milk I like. The moral of the story here if that if I’m going to eat it, it’s going to be worth it.

Untitled-1

If you would have asked me this question a couple of years ago when I was working out like a maniac and at my skinniest, I would have given you a completely different answer. My diet was really regimented then. I didn’t eat junk food, never ate dairy and really watched my carb intake. Even though I was lighter then than I am now, obsessing over food ruled my life and it was exhausting.

After going through a brief period of time when I logged my calories in MyFitnessPal and was really hard on myself because I couldn’t manage to stick to the 1200 calorie limit it gave me for the day, I knew it was time for a change. Stressing over food like a crazy person wasn’t what I wanted for my life. I was sick of putting so much weight on every single food decision I made, so I decided to stop it then and there before it got even more out of hand.

tumblr_m3d12cik9i1r6ye5ko1_500

Source here.

Now I deal with things a little differently. I don’t have any categories of food that are off limits. Elimination diets aren’t my thing because if I want a bowl of froyo, I’m going to eat it, dang it! Life’s too short! When I tell myself I can’t have something, I end up wanting them way more than I did before for the pure simple fact that I told myself I couldn’t have it. So because of that, everything is okay in moderation in my book.

One trick I do use to keep unhealthy temptations in check is to not keep junk food around. That way if I really want it, I have to go to the store to buy it. Most of the time my cravings hit at night when I’m watching Vanderpump Rules  in my pj’s, so you best believe I am NOT braving the cold to go get some cookies. If I still really want them the next day, I’ll stop and get some on the way home. I figure if I still want it almost a day later, then it’s not just mindless snacking anymore.

tumblr_ndtv8zzclm1qk08n1o1_500

Source here.

Now inevitably, there will be times when I will slip up and overindulge in junk food. So how do I handle that? I just spend a little extra time at the gym the next couple of times I go to make up for it and move on with my life. As long as I’m working out and eating mostly healthy foods, I try not to put too much emphasis on slip ups.

I know this is easier said than done and trust me, I’m not perfect by any means. I struggle just like everyone else. When I find myself getting a little nutty again, I just try to put my focus on the good things that I’m doing, spend time with my friends/family/puppy and do things that I enjoy instead. Life’s too short to worry about every single piece of food you put in your mouth.

Questions of the Day:

How do you deal with unhealthy cravings and temptations?

What’s your guilty food pleasure?

Signature

Linking up to Jill Conyers & The Fit Switch.

 

35 thoughts on “How I Overcome Unhealthy Temptations and Cravings

  1. Im like you, nothing is off limits. But if im going to indulge, it better be good. Nothing is worse than allowing yourself a treat and it ends up not even being worh it. My weaknesses are pizza and booze. But I will only get pizza from my favorite place and I only drink maybe once a month – so I’ll indulge in the fancy craft beer.

    Like

    • I completely agree! I’ve been known to throw things away that I was indulging in that didn’t turn out to be quite as delicious as I thought they would be. Mmmmmm pizza!!!

      Like

  2. Mmm, fro yo…

    So, I’m a sweets lover–baked goods, chocolate, etc.–so my general rule I try to stick to is “Only eat what I make.” So if I want cookies, I have to make them (and take some to work). I do make exceptions for things I’m not fancy enough to make, like croissants or sea salt truffles.

    Like

  3. This is my weakness. I tend to punish myself mentally for indulging on too much late night food and I hate it! It’s a mental toxic spiral so I think I reading this helped.

    Like

    • It really is! I do the same thing at night. I think it’s a stress relief from the day or something. It’s really hard to keep under control sometimes.

      Like

  4. I do that exact same thing – try to not keep it around. I still find I have a sweet tooth at night but I concoct up desserts with healthy ingredients rather than diving into a jar of PB. If I had the jar of PB I would do that. I have been making my out nut butters recently serving by serving. It takes an extra effort than just getting a spoon out 🙂

    Like

    • That makes total sense! I’m not that creative with my snacks so usually if it’s not already something that’s made or requires little to no thought to throw together, I won’t bother! haha! I LOVE PB, but I won’t eat it by the spoon, so that’s good. I would be in trouble if I did because I have a jar at work AND at home! 🙂

      Like

  5. I try not to keep stuff around because it’s a slippery slope for me personally! (One oreo, why not an entire sleeve of oreos!)

    But I definitely enjoy if I’m out somewhere where the damage can be contained. Small ice cream at my favorite place in the city? Sounds great. 🙂

    Like

  6. I usually give in to my unhealthy cravings (usually cheeseburgers and chips) but then will try to eat lighter or cleaner the following day. It works for me. I find that exercise doesn’t make that much of an impact on my size; it’s all about the caloric intake for me.

    Like

    • Mmmmm chips!!! I try to do the same thing but that can end up on a slippery slope of a lot of bad decisions sometimes for me.

      Exercise doesn’t really impact my size too much either. I mean my pants won’t be as tight and I will have more muscle tone, but it’s by like I loose a ton of weight of I exercise like a crazy person. I guess I’m just where I’m meant to be!

      Like

  7. This post speaks my thoughts exactly! I tried the calorie-counting thing, and it left me with a number and food obsession. I handle cravings by trying to be more intuitive (do I ACTUALLY want it? Can I wait five minutes and see if I still want it?). If I can’t stop thinking about ice cream or a cookie (my usual suspects), I’ll enjoy some. Working on not feeling guilty about it, though…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have no problem indulging, but not feeling guilty about it is where I struggle the most. Figures right?!?

      I had and still have in some instances an issue with numbers and food obsession, thanks to calorie counting and having a restrictive diet, so I’m happy I caught it before it got too out of hand. Glad to see you’re handling food more intuitively now too! High five!!!

      Like

  8. Ohmicrud, I want frozen yogurt in my life right now. *-* I love the tart fruity yogurts, and then piling on fruit and a couple cheesecake bites! ❤ I definitely agree with you on not doing elimination diets–I end up craving it even more, haha. These days, if I really want something, I just let myself have it. More gym time = more food! :D!

    Like

    • Hahahahaha! I debated posting that pic of FROYO for that exact reason! Sorry!!! I love the more gym time = more food! Now I just have to get the less gym time = less junk food thing under control! Haha!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. -I don’t grocery shop when I am starving or craving sweets. Therefore I rarely leave with any and I am the same way in that sure I love McDonald’s chocolate chip cookies but I am not leaving my warm house to go get them and if I do, then it must have meant to be. – I also take my lunch to work that way I am not tempted to go across the street to the little cafe or make a run to a fast food place. – If I slip up in the day and cave when a coworker offers me a donut, I don’t use it as an excuse to let the whole day be bad eating because I blew it in the morning. I try to remember every decision matters. – Keeping it in perspective helps. 1 donut won’t matter but if every morning I am eating one I may notice things fitting a smidge differently. -And if I am going to have a cupcake, I am eating the real thing. A fat free cupcake is pointless. If you’re gonna have a cupcake, have a stinkin’ cupcake! 🙂

    Like

    • Hahaha! I couldn’t agree with you more! Diet food isn’t worth it at all! I do tend to go down a slippery slope of bad decisions once I make one, so I need to work on that. Glad you’ve got that one under control already! Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and for hosting! The obsessive nature of calorie counting sacred me and I was really worried if I didn’t stop, that it would turn into an eating disorder so that’s why I stopped. I’m so glad you caught it and we’re able to recover! #fitfamlove

      Like

  10. I refuse to diet. Unless I find myself one day actually needing to I will never do it. I eat heathy in general but will never deprive myself of something. MyFitnessPal gave me 1200 calories too. I used it for one day. Never again. It’s funny though – I’m takin nutrition and this site I use (you have to pay) gives me 1800. Although it’s better than 1200 I still found it interesting how little can add up to that. Don’t deprive. Live. Food can be so delicious if you take time and do it right

    Like

    • Yeah I think I used MyFitnessPal for less than a week and gave up on it because it seemed so unattainable. I mean even on Naked and Afraid they say a person should have 2,000 calories a day so I’m not sure which number is right at this point but gave up really caring a long time ago!

      Like

  11. i agree not keeping it in the house is huge. I made a decision to make 2015 the year of health. I also look for healthy substitutes. I have found that when I want froyo or ice cream, (hubby has it in the house) if I blend a frozen mango and banana concoction in the mini-blender I get a satisfying treat and don’t feel bad because it’s just fruit & water.

    Like

    • That’s a good idea! I’ve been meaning to try out this recipe I found for banana peanut butter “ice cream” that follows a similar concept.

      Like

  12. Love your take on this, and love how you have QUALITY splurges. “I make it worth it.” LOVE THAT. Thanks for the reminder. I needed it! #fitfamlove

    Like

    • You’re welcome! I really enjoyed yours also! I need to start bringing tea back into the mix to curb cravings at night! #fitfamlove

      Like

    • I think that’s honestly the healthiest way to handle things. Otherwise you find yourself surrounded by Oreo cookie crumbs and don’t know what happened!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

