5 Ways I’m Planning to Stay Happy and Healthy in 2015

theme-for-2015

Staying happy and healthy in the New Year is about more than just food and exercise to me. I’m planning to take more of a holistic approach to staying healthy in 2015 than I have done in previous years. Lately I have learned that being healthy is about more than just how many calories you eat and how many sweat sessions you can pack into your week. Being healthy is also about feeding your soul, so to speak. It’s about doing things that make you a happy and more aware person.

That being said, I’ve come up with a few things I want to focus on in 2015 to be the best version of me!

Here’s how I plan to stay happy and healthy in 2015:

  1. Pick a word of the year

I’m sure you’ve all heard of picking a word to represent an idea to fully embrace in the coming year.  It’s along the lines of a New Years’ Resolution, but it’s meant more to guide, transform and inspire you, than to hold you to a particular action. I’ve got my word choices narrowed down to two, so I’ll be sharing mine with you all as soon as I pick one!

  1. Add more variety to my workout routine

I was recently reintroduced to Bikram Yoga and TRX classes, thanks to ClassPass, and loved how trying outside of my normal routine reignited my passion for fitness and I was actually excited to do something other than attend spin class for the first time in a very long time. I like exercising because it makes me feel re-energized afterwards and it seems to have some sort of master power for changing a bad mood into a good one, but it shouldn’t be something I dread carving out time to do.

  1. Do more things for others

This doesn’t mean grand gestures or lots of time consuming projects. It could be something as simple as running an errand for a loved one to help make their day a little easier. I already started implementing this in my life toward the end of 2014 and it was amazing to see the shift my interactions with others took for the better. People always say “You get more flies with honey!” and it couldn’t be more true!

  1. Spend time with people that make me happy doing things that make me happy.

In the past, I’ve always been the “Yes” person and ended up over committing myself frequently to work projects I didn’t have the time for or personal commitments that I didn’t have the time for or even wanted to attend. I have a problem with saying no, so I ended up stressing out over deadlines and packing my calendar with social obligations I didn’t have time for and ran myself ragged. This year, I’m choosing quality over quantity and saying no to things I don’t want to do to make room for the things that really make me happy in life, whatever that may be.

  1. Self-love

I decided to save the best for last with self-love. You don’t have anything to offer anyone else unless you’re full first. This doesn’t make you selfish or greedy, it just means you have to take care of yourself first so you can give others access to the best version of yourself when you’re with them. Some things I’m really going to work on in 2015 are taking time for myself, slowing down and not over booking myself, like I am often guilty of doing for fear of FOMO.

Questions of the Day:

How are you planning to stay happy and healthy in 2015?

What is your word for 2015?

Signature

Linking up to Olives N Wine, The Fit Switch, Jill Conyers, The Dwelling TreeOur Three PeasPioneer Momma, Running with Spoons and Live Randomly Simple.

17 thoughts on “5 Ways I’m Planning to Stay Happy and Healthy in 2015

    • It really is! Once they get more studios signed up in my area, I think I’m probably going to cancel my gym membership and just have ClassPass!

      Like

  1. I love that you also believe being healthy is more than food and exercise. I like to think of healthy as body, mind and soul! I have started each day with an intention and gratitude to help my soul. My word for 2015 is Challenge! I plan on challenging myself as much as possible.

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I completely agree with you!

      Challenge is such a strong word! It sounds like 2015 will be full of lots of adventures for you! I can’t wait to hear all about them!

      Happy New Year!

      Like

  2. These posts have inspired me to come up with a single word (persevere!)! (Being the way-too-verbose person I am, it was difficult. ._.)

    I would so love to get a ClassPass someday so I can try out a bunch of different fitness classes! ❤

    Like

    • I’m so glad you liked my post! I LOVE your word! What a great choice! I found it so hard to narrow my word down to just one, that I contemplated choosing a new word each month, but then thought that it might loose some of it’s meaning that way.

      ClassPass is absolutely awesome! You’ll love it!

      Happy New Year!

      Like

    • Thanks so much! 🙂 I completely agree! I’m going for WHOLE body happiness next year! Now if my body will get on board with that, we’ll be well on our way!

      Have a safe & happy New Year!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Words To Live By In 2015 | A Couple of Dashes

  4. Love all these, girl! Self-love is going to be a big one for me this year as well. I noticed that it’s so much easier to be kinder than others than it is to be kinder to yourself, and that’s really a shame because we can’t offer the best version of ourselves to the world if we’re not feeling it, and we can’t feel it if we’re constantly beating ourselves up. Here’s to an awesome 2015!

    Like

    • Thanks you so much! It really is so much easier to be kind to others when you’re kind to yourself, but you’re right, being kind to yourself is SO HARD! I’m glad I’m not the only one with this goal for 2015! Hope you’re having a great year so far! Thanks for stopping by and for hosting the link ups each week!

      Like

  5. Pingback: A Look Back At 2014 | A Couple of Dashes

  6. Pingback: Goals To Be The Best Version Of Me In 2015 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

