Double Chocolate Chip Peppermint Cupcakes

Hey there!

I’m so excited to share this super easy recipe with you today! If you’re anything like me, you like to hand make treats to take to gatherings with friends and family but rarely have a ton of time to whip up some Martha Stewart like dessert. My go to for parties is usually brownies, because they are delicious and easy to make, but sometimes I want to make something that looks a little more impressive and festive. I started thinking about what I would make if I was looking for something impressive looking and Christmas themed, but easy to make. After a lot of thinking, I came up with these double chocolate chip peppermint cupcakes and couldn’t wait to test them out!

I know a lot of people like to make cakes and cupcakes from scratch, but I’m going to be honest with you, I don’t have the patience for that. I stick to the boxed mixes and I’m okay with that. They’re easy to use, don’t require a million ingredients and are usually cheaper than making cake mix from scratch. I consider that a win. Now before we get too far into this recipe, I feel like I should warn you that I’m not huge into measuring things. I’m more of a “couple of dashes of this” and “a handful of that” kind of girl, so if you like exact measurements with you’re recipes, you’re probably in the wrong place!

IMG_3249

Now on to the “recipe.” If you’re a person who likes to make their cake mixes from scratch, feel free to sub in your own chocolate cake mix recipe here. For those of you who are going to stick to the boxed mixes, I chose chocolate fudge because… well… why not? My mix required some oil and three eggs, but depending on the mix you choose, the ingredients required for this part may vary a little bit. After I mixed up my cake mix, I added in about a cup of mini chocolate chips for fun because chocolate chips make all cupcakes better. Am I right or am I right?!?!

IMG_3250

Then bake them according to the directions for your mix and enjoy the wonderful smell of baking cupcakes in your kitchen. I know I did! After they are done baking, take them out of the oven and let them cool before frosting them. If you frost them too early, the frosting will melt, so be careful!

IMG_3252

Once the cupcakes are cool, frost them with the vanilla frosting of your choice.

IMG_3251

Make sure you convince someone that frosting cupcakes is fun and they should help you so you have a partner in crime here!

IMG_3253

Now comes the fun part! Unwrap around half a bag of peppermint candies, place them in a ziplock bag and break them with a rolling pin! Then put all the pieces in a bowl and roll your frosted cupcakes around in the pieces until the frosting is covered in peppermint candy pieces.

IMG_3254

Your final product should look something like this.

IMG_3256

The festive cupcake holders are optional, but definitely add to the overall appearance and “WOW” factor of your cupcakes.

IMG_3118

Now you have a super snazzy plate of cupcakes to take to your next party that will leave everyone in awe of your baking skills! Don’t worry, you don’t have to tell them your secret! Just let them believe they were super hard to make and soak up all the kudos coming your way!

Questions of the Day:

What’s your favorite go to party treat?

Cupcakes or cakes?

Do you like to bake from scratch or from a box?

Signature

AnyonitaNibblesFeatured

Linking up to Olives N WineAnyonita Nibbles, Lean LenaLake Shore Runner, Buns in My Oven,  Peas and Crayons, Mostly Homemade Mom, Our Three Peas, Pioneer MammaRunning With SpoonsThe New Mrs Adventures, Live Randomly SimpleLou Lou Girls, The Dwelling Tree and Healthy Living Blogs linkups!

31 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Chip Peppermint Cupcakes

  1. These are great! Super easy and look delicious. I just recently tried out the Betty Crocker gluten free cupcake mix and it was SO GOOD. Would love to try this out with that. Thanks for sharing! I’d love if you brought this over and shared on What’d You Do This Weekend! Pinned 🙂

    Like

    • That’s a great idea! I’ll have to check out that mix! I just added it to your link up and added your link up to my link up calendar so I can stop by in the future too! Thanks so much for letting me know about it! 🙂

      Like

  2. These are so cute and not half as difficult to make as they look.

    I recently saw mint chocolate chips in stores. Might be fun in the batter too. Such a fun idea.

    Like

  3. This looks so perfect! I wish I could take a bite right now! Pinned and tweeted. Thank you for being a part of our party. I hope to see you on tonight at 7 pm. It wouldn’t be a party without you!
    Happy Monday! Lou Lou Girls

    Like

  4. Pingback: Friday Favorites - How to Make a Life

  5. Pingback: A Look Back At 2014 | A Couple of Dashes

  6. Pingback: Red Hot Red Velvet Cupcakes | A Couple of Dashes

  7. Pingback: Recipe Wednesday: #FTWDinner

Share Your Thoughts :)

