Liebster Award

Hey there!

I’ve got exciting news for you! I was nominated by Haley at Running with Diapers for this lovely little award. Since I love awards and am always down for a survey this was right up my alley! Thanks Haley!

After doing some research to find out more about the history of this award, I found out that it’s actually more like a chain letter, than an award, in the sense that those who are nominated, must pass it on. It’s still an honor to receive though since you must be nominated by someone in the blogging community to participate. The Liebster Award is an award presented to new bloggers with a growing audience as a way to spread the word about up-and-coming bloggers and welcome them into the blogging community with supportive and open arms! (Side note: The word “liebster” is actually German for “dearest” or “favorite.”) How sweet!

liebsterblogaward-300x300

To get started, here are the rules for the Liebster Blog Award:

The rules:
-Each nominee must link back the person who nominated them.
-Answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominator.
-Nominate 5 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers. (This is a little debatable. I’ve seen other bloggers nominate 10 and use the criteria of having under 500 followers. I’m going with 5 bloggers, since that’s what Haley did when she nominated me, and am picking blogs with a following of somewhere between 0-500 on Facebook and Twitter.)
-Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
-Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

The most exciting part about this award is that I get to tell you all a little bit more about myself! I had a lot of fun going through old photos and choosing which ones to include on here, so I hope you enjoy it! With that said…

These are the questions Haley nominated me to answer for you:

1.  Where in the world are you right now?  What are you doing?

I am in Tacoma, WA right now eating chicken noodle soup and a turkey sandwich for lunch. YUM!

IMG_3185

2. What is your nickname, or what would you select as your nickname (if you don’t have one)?

I have a couple actually. The most common ones are TJ or Nugget though!

photo 2

3.  If you could do anything for a living, what would you do?

I’d probably do some sort of run-cation where I traveled around the world with my friends and family to participate in different running events if I could choose absolutely anything. More realistically, I would like to do event planning for a non-profit organization. (This photo was taken at Neuschwanstein Castle in Germany, which is the castle that Cinderella’s Castle is modeled after.)

599298_694203254400_384619960_n

4. What makes you angry?

This is a really good question! Inconsiderate people and people who refuse to take any accountability for their actions make me really angry. Also, people who have no compassion for others. If you are one of these people, you’ll most likely get a look from me like this…

1606873_867787340500_23254212_n

Or this….

IMG_3153

When you should be aiming for a reaction more like this…

IMG_2684

Or this. So keep it classy people and be kind and considerate of others. It’s really not too much to ask.

945779_767373635370_1535499018_n

5.  What song would you choose as your theme song?

It would be “Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift. Hands down.

 

6.  Do you have a guilty pleasure?  What is it?

I have quite a few, but the ones that are sticking out in my mind right now are:

Buying way too much nail polish. This is only about 25% of my collection.

IMG_2599[1]

Eating raw cookie dough and licking off the beaters when I’m finished mixing a cake.

IMG_3025

Hitting the snooze button one too many times and online shopping. No pictures to share of these, but I do them ALL THE TIME! 🙂

7.  What/who inspired you to begin blogging?

Janae at The Hungry Runner Girl and Monica at Run, Eat, Repeat. I don’t even remember how I came across their blogs, but I think it was from a running blogger list I saw in a magazine or something. I’ve been hooked ever since! Since I’m a huge fan, it literally made my life to be featured in this post on HRG about running costumes! I died.

photo 2

8.  What is one accomplishment that you are extremely proud of doing?

Being the first in my family to graduate from college and doing it with honors!

4226_530842500660_7534168_n

Also, placing first in my age group in a 5k I did in March 2014…

1554340_867716622220_1388172793_n

And finishing my first half marathon in January 2014.

1932404_868229264880_200285137_n

9.  What is the most exotic food or beverage that you have ever tried?

I honestly don’t do well with exotic food. I usually just stick to tried and true dishes at restaurants, instead of ordering anything too crazy. I have a very queasy stomach, am a somewhat picky eater and have a weird thing against certain colors and textures in my food, so I don’t get very crazy when it comes to ordering things. Some of the most crazy and exotic foods I’ve ever ordered are raw sushi, calamari and pad thai. I know. I know. All extremely exotic food choices! WAIT… Does lavender lemonade count as exotic? That one was definitely out of my wheel house!

10370811_904582926850_1801271379635416653_n

10.  If you could be an animal for a day, which one would you chose and why?

It’s a toss up between a penguin and a koala bear. Penguins are awesome and seem like pretty cool animals since they only have one mate for life, which I think is super sweet but koala bears are awesome too! They seem like they have it made. All they really do is eat eucalyptus leaves all day and sleep. What’s not to like about either one?!?!

2251_520523060900_8848_n

I nominate:

Here are your questions:

  1. If you could meet any celebrity, who would it be and why?
  2. What’s your fondest memory?
  3. What’s the best concert you’ve ever been to?
  4. Who inspired you to begin blogging?
  5. If you could have a theme song, what would it be?
  6. What is one accomplishment you’re most proud of completing?
  7. What is one goal you are striving to accomplish currently?
  8. What place is on the top of your “must visit” list?
  9. What post did you write that you are most proud of?
  10. If you could be anywhere doing anything right now, where would you be and what would you be doing?

Questions of the Day:

Bloggers – Have you ever been nominated for a Liebster Award?

Non-Bloggers – What’s an award you’ve won that you’re most proud of?

Signature

 

Linking up to Running With Spoons!

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: A Look Back At 2014 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

