5 Things Friday – New Workout Clothes, Stitch Fix, December Races & Holiday Gift Basket Giveaway!

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!

f83db7db3f278cf857e9489e16879230

Source here.

So when I sat down to write my 5 Things Friday post for this week, I wanted to do something a little different than I had been doing previously. I normally just tell you 5 random things that happened to me during the week, but I wanted to add a little more substance to these posts going forward. I thought I would beef up 5 Things Friday by including 5 things I ate, 5 workouts I did and 5 giveaways I found in the blogosphere this week for you to enjoy? Sound good to you? GOOD! Then let’s jump in and get started!

5 Random Thoughts/Happenings From This Week

1. Almost booked race calendar for December. 

Two women run down Mountain Avenue in a snowstorm.

Source here.

I sat down yesterday to fill out my calendar with all my plans for December because my friend, Kristina, invited me to do an Ugly Christmas Sweater 5k with her and I wanted to see if I was free before I signed up. Normally, I would have already written all this stuff down, but things have been crazy busy in my world lately, so I hadn’t got the chance to write down all my commitments yet. After filling out my calendar, I realized I registered for a run every weekend except one for the month of December and unfortunately I’m already doing another run on the day of the Ugly Christmas Sweater 5k. Boooo! I’m super excited for all of the runs I have planned coming up though and even more excited that I will be adding to my bling collection since one of them is giving out medals this year! WooooHoooo! Looks like I’m going to need to stock up on some more winter running clothes so I don’t turn into a icicle! <— Did you get my winter popsicle joke there? Sometimes I crack myself up!

2. Feeling overwhelmed. 

lazy

Source here.

Do you ever feel like your running around at 1,000 miles a minute and it’s only a matter of time before you crash and burn? (I’m going to assume you’re nodding your head “Yes” right now so that I can feel better about my situation!) Work has been insanely busy lately, like staying late, no time for a bathroom break, feeling like you have nothing left to give at the end of the day busy. No fun. I’m really hoping it was just the last few weeks and things will calm down next week because lots of people will be on vacation, but who knows. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that my sanity will return soon! I’ll keep you posted on that one!

3. I’M GOING TO CALIFORNIA!

i-can-t-keep-calm-i-m-going-to-california

Source here.

One good thing did come from being so busy at work lately. We were able to meet our sales goal so our company is sending my entire department to California! The details are still a little fuzzy as to what part of California we will be going to, when we will be going and what we will be doing while we’re there, but I’m super excited for a vacation!

4. Stitch Fix fail.

I was so excited to get my first Stitch Fix box in the mail on Tuesday after seeing all the cool clothes other bloggers have been in their fixes. I signed up about a month and a half ago and was on a waiting list to receive my fix, so there’s been a lot of time for anticipation to build with this. I had high hopes that I was going to get a box full of pieces I loved and that I was going to have a hard time choosing which pieces to keep and which ones to send back. Unfortunately, none of the pieces were really what I was looking for and I ended up sending them all back. I thought about keeping the black pants that was included in my fix, but they were about 5 inches too long and I didn’t want to hassle with having to take take them to get hemmed and sink more money into them. I know they sell the same brand of pants I received in my fix at Nordstrom, so I’ll probably just go buy them there so I can get free alterations, if needed.

Now after all of those kind words and rave reviews, I know you guys are probably interested to see what I received in my fix. Get ready for some of the least photogenic and excited pictures of me you will ever encounter. Please ignore my hair. I was on my way to the gym when I got my box.

IMG_3003

IMG_3006[1]

IMG_3005[1]

5. ‘Tis the season for a workout wardrobe update.

Since my attempt at updating my normal wardrobe was a fail, I’ve decided to stick to what I know best and update my workout wardrobe instead. Since I pretty much live in workout clothing anyways, it’s not a bad investment. I’m sure the fact that I have new workout clothes on my mind is coming as a shock to you after some of my posts last week on not so basic workout pants and winter running must haves.

I’m on a mission to find this vest from Columbia in white before my 5k this weekend but it’s not looking good so far. I’m really worried about freezing to death since I will be outside for a couple hours leading up to the race volunteering at packet pickup, so I’m going to have to figure something out. Maybe I should pick up some pocket hand warmers and wool socks. BRRRR…

vest

I’m hoping that my earband shows up in the mail before this weekend, but that’s also not looking promising.

headband

My normal go to workout tanks are getting a little on the frumpy side since I’ve had them for a couple of years now, so I’ve been slowly replacing them when I find new ones that I like. I’m considering picking up this tank for indoor group fitness classes, but I haven’t decided yet. I love that it’s fitted without being too fitted and has cute detailing on the back.

LW1G56S_8650_1

LW1G56S_8650_2

5 Things I Ate

1. Chipotle tacos, chips and guac for ladies night with Jenica.

IMG_2999

2. French dip sandwich and fries for lunch with Mickie.

IMG_2997

They gave us this tray of all kinds of different sauces to try with our meal. YUM!

IMG_2998

3. Chicken and bacon salad from Pita Pit with spinach and all of the veggies!

IMG_2996

4. I didn’t necessarily “eat” this, but I’ve been drinking at least one cup of this every morning like it’s going out of style!

IMG_3002

5. Sausage and egg scramble (breakfast for dinner!).

unnamed (4)

5 Workouts I Did

1. TRX + Kettle Bell Class (Review coming next week!)

IMG_3007[1]

2. Hot Yoga Class

IMG_2826

3. Spin Class

IMG_2297

4. TRX Class

IMG_3004

(photo from Tuesday’s TRX + Kettle Bell Class)

5. Thanksgiving 5k (Okay… I haven’t done this one yet, but I will be on Sunday so this still counts! I’ll be posting a recap next week!)

 

5 Giveaways In The Blogosphere You Might Want to Check Out

1. Holiday Giveaway Basket via Bold Fit Mama (Make sure to check this out! It’s awesome! I’m partnering with Amber on this to help promote this awesome giveaway!)

christmas1

2. Relax with this candle, PJ and throw blanket giveaway via Peanut Butter Fingers

3. NatureBox Snack Box Giveaway via Daily Garnish

4. $145 CASH + Monogrammed Clutch via September Farm

5. Running shoes of your choice + Pro Compression Marathon Socks via Hungry Runner Girl

 

Questions of the Day:

What are your 5 things this Friday?

What pieces of workout gear are on your must have list?

Do you have anything fun planned for the weekend?

Signature

 

Linking up to Jill Conyers, Running 4 Cupcakes, Fitting It All In, Housewife Glamour, You Signed Up For What?, Fitful Focus, That Friday Blog Hop, September Farm and Olives ‘n Wine linkups!

24 thoughts on “5 Things Friday – New Workout Clothes, Stitch Fix, December Races & Holiday Gift Basket Giveaway!

  1. Nice post I am checking out the giveaways in a sec. Sorry to hear about your stitchfix box. Did you set up a page on pinterest and put some style picks in there? I did that and then left a link for the stylist and I kept all 5 items in my last box! God luck!

    Like

  2. Yay for Chipotle! And lots of guac!

    Sorry about your Stitchfix fail. I think you have to give them lots of notes and I also link to a special pinterest board where I pin cute outfits and pieces I want to help them out. I will also point out that nothing I got was what I would usually buy…but it was good to get me out of my fashion comfort zone! A dress and sweater I kept that I was a bit unsure of I now wear all the time!!

    Like

    • I love the guac there! SO good!

      See the funny thing is I left tons of specific notes and Pinterest boards and nothing up my alley. I was wanting to get outside of my comfort zone but I didn’t think any of them were flattering enough to keep. I’m hesitant to schedule another fix since I basically just threw $20 away the first time. :/

      Like

    • Good to know! I’m going to have to pick it up then! It’s not super tight when you wear it, is it? That’s my problem with most tanks. I hate the really tight ones!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Stitch Fix #2 Unboxing &Review! | A Couple of Dashes

  4. Pingback: Stitch Fix #3: May Unboxing and Review! | A Couple of Dashes

  5. Pingback: Stitch Fix #4: June Unboxing and Review! | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

