What Little Luxuries Make You Feel Special?

Well hello there! How are you doing today?

After reading the blog post “Little Luxuries” by Kristin Armstrong on the Runner’s World website last week, I started thinking about how true this post really was. When I pamper myself with little luxuries, it gives me a higher sense of self worth and makes me feel better about myself over all. Like Kristin stated in her post, these luxuries are mostly relatively low to no cost items that show you value yourself and make you feel special.

week3_challenge

 

Source here.

I wanted to make a list of luxuries like Kristin did in her post about some of the things that make me feel special. I didn’t seem to have as easy of a time writing my list as she did though. I didn’t come up with nearly as many as she did! Here’s my list:

  • having painted nails
  • going for a mani/pedi with a friend
  • going to brunch with a friend
  • talking a mid day walk
  • curling up with a book
  • burning a scented candle
  • drinking a cup of tea
  • cuddling with my dog
  • spending time with my family
  • sleeping in
  • not rushing to leave the house
  • straightening my hair (I usually just let it air dry.)
  • decorating my work space
  • an extra sweaty workout
  • catching up with a friend or family member for a few minutes each day
  • taking a nap
  • watching my favorite tv shows
  • smoothies
  • being there for the people I love
  • working towards a goal
  • helping someone else achieve their goals
  • clean sheets
  • participating in a run
  • trying a new recipe
  • getting my hair done
  • fro yo
  • guacamole
  • watching funny videos on YouTube
  • bubble baths
  • wearing perfume
  • dancing to a fun song without worrying who is watching

It’s important that we set aside time each day to do something that makes us feel valued and important in our own lives. We tend to run around from one place to another day after day, without really stopping to appreciate the little things life has to offer and this is no way to live! We need to slow down a little and appreciate the little things because they are what make the bad things life sometimes throws our way just a little more tolerable.

Questions of the Day:

What is the last luxury you indulged yourself in?

What’s your favorite way to pamper yourself? 

What giveaway items would you most like to see?

Signature

10 thoughts on “What Little Luxuries Make You Feel Special?

  1. Pingback: Make Me Happy Monday 10.27.14 | A Couple of Dashes

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it! Reading a book and painting my nails are some of my favorite things to do too. I just can’t sit still long enough to do them sometimes! Have fun making your list!

      Like

  2. Great thoughts! The little luxury idea is gold! I had never thought about it that way, but those little things really do help us feel the self-love. Thanks for sharing, Tricia. How are you liking the link-up?

    Like

    • Of course! Thanks for hosting! I’m really excited to be able to participate in something that is so positive and uplifting. I’m loving reading through the posts today and they have been putting a smile on my face! 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

