Sometimes you just feel stuck.

Hey there!

Do you ever have one of those days that you just need to get out of the office for a little breather to help you reset? Yesterday was one of those days for me. I normally don’t take a lunch break, but yesterday I decided I needed to get out and get some fresh air. I ended up walking a total of 1.54 miles round trip in exactly 30 minutes. I felt a lot less irritable when I got back to the office, so I think I’m going to start doing this more regularly, while the weather is still on my side!

unnamed

I’m not really sure why this face with the peace sign seems to be my go to selfie pose lately, but I’m just going to roll with it for awhile.

Even after my long walk, I still had a bit of a rough end to my day, nothing major, just annoying. Sometimes when I’m in a bad mood, I’d rather go home and sulk, instead of going to the gym, even though I know it always makes me feel better. The thought of skipping crossed my mind yesterday but I decided not to give in to my bad mood and got my butt to spin class for one of the best workouts I’ve had in a long time.

unnamed (1)

Yesterday, I was not in the mood for the angry rock music that the particular instructor of yesterday’s class is known for using, so I put in my headphones and started rocking out to my own playlist (I could still hear the instructor over my music so I was still able to follow along). I’ve decided it’s really the music that makes the workout. I may or may not have listened to “I Lived” by OneRepublic at least 5 times in a row and it really helped get me back in the right mindset and helped me push my workout to the next level. This song has always been on my playlists for all my races since it first came out about a year ago because I really love the message behind it.

This photo does not do the amount of sweating that happened in class yesterday justice at all. I was actually dripping sweat because I was so into the workout. It was awesome.

unnamed (2)

Anywhoo… enough workout chat. Let’s move on to something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately. Life.

I know what you’re probably thinking. “That’s a big topic. Are you going to narrow that down for us?” To answer your question, yes, of course I will! I’ve been feeling a little (and by a little, I mean a lot) stuck in life lately, so when I came across this video the other day and it really struck me.

Some of you may already be familiar with Mastin’s work on The Daily Love, which is an inspirational and motivational website with blog posts and videos similar to the one I’ve included above. He also just came out with the book “Daily Love: Growing into Grace”  that I’ve been reading and enjoying lately. I find Mastin’s approach to personal growth to be refreshing because it’s broken down in a way that makes it easy to understand and implement into our own personal life.

What I think is so interesting about this lesson is that getting the one thing we want most (getting unstuck in this case) requires us to take a risk, which is probably the one thing we want to do the least in this situation. Usually when I feel stuck, I’m reluctant to make big moves because I’m afraid of the outcome, but that mindset has never really gotten me the results I was after. I’ve only ever been able to get “unstuck” by taking a risk and making a big move. That’s some scary business right there!

It seems like such a simple concept, but it’s easier said than done when it comes to actually putting it into action in our own lives. I’ve really been working lately on taking a different approach to accomplish the things I’m struggling with accomplishing in my life since the methods I’ve been using up until now haven’t really been working for me. It’s too soon to say how everything is going to turn out, but I’ve just gotta keep trying until I find something that works, right? Obviously, there’s more to getting unstuck in life than what can be covered in a 4 minute long video and this blog, but we’ve all got to start somewhere, right?

Questions of the Day:

Have you ever felt “stuck” in life?

 How did you deal?

Blog-Signature

2 thoughts on “Sometimes you just feel stuck.

Share Your Thoughts :)

