Be a Better Me Challenge

Happy Thursday everyone!

Okay so it’s about it get real on here today. Are you ready? I don’t know if I am, but it’s happening anyways. I’m going to put on my big girl (yoga) pants, suck it up and get through it. I know I told you a little bit about the challenge my friend and I are doing earlier this week here, but as promised, here are ALL the dirty details about what’s going down. This is my list of things I want to work on improving in my life to become a better version of myself. Get ready… I’m not messing around here! 🙂

Be A Better Me Challenge

Don’t miss any workouts. I’m aiming for 4-5 gym sessions a week.

16a546f9d89faa90134dd896b24a1314

I’m usually really good at sticking to my 4-5 times a week workout routine, but for awhile there it was getting a little rough. I was always making excuses like “I’m too hungry”, “I’m too tired from not sleeping well the night before” or “I really need to catch up on the old episode of Big Brother before the new one airs tonight so I just HAVE to skip the gym.” This is no longer acceptable. I’m getting back on the straight and narrow and I feel good about it. I’m happy to report that last week, I made it to the gym a total of 4 times for a grand total of 330 minutes (I actually like to calculate my minutes at the gym also. I know I’m a little weird but there’s a method to the madness, I promise). I call that progress.

Incorporate strength training/core work into my weekly workout schedule.

il_340x270.543534799_lytd

Source here.

I used to be really good at this but I’ve lost my way a little lately. The whole weight bench situation at my gym is greatly lacking (I believe there are only 4 in the ENTIRE gym and they’re ALWAYS occupied with a waiting line) so it really makes it hard to find a place to do what I need to do when I’m ready to do it. I’m not going to let this be my excuse anymore though! There are PLENTY of aerobics steps laying around, so if there isn’t a free bench, I’m just going to start making my own. Problem solved!

Go to yoga class at least once a week.

3dbf76d1c7fac32f47743ccc9ac35aff

Source here.

Let me preface this one with the fact that I HATE yoga. I feel like it’s a waste of an hour when I can go to spin and burn way more calories (Insert cringes from all the yogis out there here). I’m also insanely inflexible, so I hate going and being the one doing everything wrong or only halfway because I can’t properly get into a pose. I have to change this way of thinking though. I know that yoga is a great way to stretch and prevent injury from other exercises that require more exertion. I also know that the more I keep going, the more my flexibility will improve, so I just need to keep going and working on it. It’s also a great time to just be and recenter, so I know I can benefit from going, I just have to start making sure to get there.

Spend more quality time with my foam roller. 

active-recovery-workouts

Source here.

Adding on to needing to incorporate yoga into my life, I need to also add in some quality foam roller time into my life also. I know it makes me feel better and helps to prevent injury, but sometimes it hurts and I just don’t want to. That being said, we’re going to start spending some quality time together stat. It’s necessary and going to happen.

Drink 1 gallon of water a day.

water bomb

Source here.

My friend and I started this challenge on Monday and you can see how day one went for me here. The first day was a bit of a challenge, but I think I’m getting it a little more under control now. The trick is to start early and don’t fall behind throughout the day. Water is generally my drink of choice so that is definitely something that is to my benefit here. I don’t have a soda or coffee addiction to also have to kick at the same time so that’s definitely a good thing. I’m looking forward to reaping the benefits of more glowing skin from this down the road!

Stop “Stinkin’ Thinkin'”

download

Source here.

I have a tendency to think the worst in every situation. Though I think it’s good to see that something bad could happen and prepare yourself for that, I also think it’s important to see that something positive could happen too. So, I’m trying to be more of a glass half full kind of girl now.

When someone gives me a compliment, say “Thank you!” and leave it at that, instead of retorting with a negative put down on myself.

Stinkin-Thinkin-300x255

Source here.

We’re all guilty of this at one time or another. Someone says “You look nice today!” and your response is “Thanks! You have no idea how much concealer it took to get this situation under control today.” Just stop doing that. End of story. Just take the compliment, say “Thank you!” and be happy about it.

Dress up on Mondays to start the week off right!

monday-ok

Source here.

As you may remember me mentioning here, I work in the most laid back office on the planet. Most of the time I’m either in the office alone or with one other person, so there’s really no need to dress up. Mickie and I have affectionately deemed Mondays “Dress Up Monday” where we dress up in real clothes, no yoga pants allowed, to start the week off on the right foot. Check out what we wore for Dress Up Monday this week here.

Don’t fish for compliments/what you want to hear.

swell_400x400

 

Source here.

I don’t think I fish for compliments, but I am definitely guilty of baiting people to get them to say what I want to hear from time to time. It means so much more when someone says what you need to hear, without being baited. True story.

Learn to trust my instincts and make my own decisions.

tumblr_mz51gmFD1J1rjea8eo1_500

Source here.

This is a toughie for me. I’ve always been the kind of girl who just goes with the flow and doesn’t rock the boat. I HATE making decisions because I’m always afraid I’m making the wrong one or of what people will think about the decisions I do choose to make. I need to stop doing this. This is my life, so I have to decide what will make me happy and stick with it. Sometimes I may stumble and fall, but sometimes I may fly too. I have to be prepared for the outcome on either end, go with my gut and trust that the people who love and care about me will be there for me no matter what.

Ask for help when I need it.

keepcalmstudio-com-crown-keep-calm-and-ask-for-help

Source here.

And realize this isn’t a sign of failure or weakness. Sometimes your up and can give someone else a hand and sometimes your down and need someone to help you back up. We’re all going to need the help of someone else at some point in life and that’s okay.

Have one thing that is mine and mine alone to work on that I can be proud of and feel a sense of accomplishment from.

257772294_proud_xlarge

Source here.

Welcome to A Couple of Dashes people! This site is my baby and my baby alone. I’m responsible for every. single. part. of the creation and content of this blog and I couldn’t be more proud of myself for that. Every little milestone, post, graphic and crazy little formatting thing I figure out on my own makes me so happy. Thanks for everyone for reading and giving me an audience to talk to! Also, thanks for letting me bounce ideas off of some of you and talk blog stuff to you ad nauseam without permanently blocking me from all forms of contact. I appreciate all of your help, willingness to listen, creative ideas and support in making my dreams a reality. 🙂

Have meaningful conversations with people.

318133_10150833091146829_1187199094_n-1

I touched on this a little in my post on Random Acts of Kindness, but I really want to make a point of having meaningful, engaging conversations with people. I want to be better at listening and asking thoughtful questions about whatever the topic of discussion is. You never know what you can learn from/about someone the more you start to dig, so I don’t want to miss out on those opportunities to connect with people anymore. Also, I know how much I appreciate it when someone genuinely listens to what I have to say and offers questions/comments/feedback in return, so I want to do the same for others.

I will love others, but I will always love myself more.

download (1)

Source here.

This is a hard one, but I have to learn to start putting myself first. It’s easy to loose yourself and your passion when you’re trying to please others and do what you think is expected of you, but then in the end, no one really wins. This one is a really hard one for me to explain, but I listened to a talk about this on Cosmo Radio (I know… shocker!) a couple months ago and this statement stuck with me so much that I actually put it in my phone so I wouldn’t forget it.

Remember to just breathe. You’re going to be okay. 

breathe

 

Source here.

No matter what happens, you’re going to be okay. I’m going to be okay. We’re all going to be okay. That is as long as we all remember to breathe. 🙂

Questions of the Day:

What is one thing you want to work on to become a better version of yourself?

Are you going to incorporate any of these into your daily life?

Blog-Signature

10 thoughts on “Be a Better Me Challenge

  1. I love this post! I have been working on making positive changes for a few years and every little bit helps. I too am aiming for 2 strength, 2 core and 3 yoga sessions per week. I’ve stuck to this for the past few months and I love it. Not too much–just enough. Also, realizing that I am the only one that knows what is best for me is a big one. Just because I feel like maybe I “should” do something, if it does not feel right, then it’s not right. No matter how good it might look on paper!!

    Like

    • You are so right! I’m actually really struggling with what I NEED to do for me vs what people think I SHOULD do right now. I’ve been really stressed out so I’m trying to find a way to balance it all out if that makes any sense. You’re so right though, if it doesn’t feel right, it probably isn’t! Good job sticking to your workout schedule lately! That’s awesome!

      Like

  2. Miss Tricia : ) I am so proud of you this is everything we have been aiming to get to ! I have become a motivational speaker this year …and when I speak one of the main points I hit on is ” Put yourself at the top of the list.. Love yourself ,then you will be able to love others the way they deserve to be loved!” We have to make choices for our needs ,and when this happens they become the right choices , and if they become the “not right choice” then we are the ones responsible for the outcome and can’t blame others. I have lived my whole life trying to make others happy and always had put myself on the back burner, this year I have lost over 169lbs and have found healing in loving me and I can tell you that all of my family and friends have flurished because of this choice . I am a better me ….whichs makes me a better loving happy person to be around : ) Now look in the Mirror and know and feel that you are Enough as you are right now!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad this is something you’re doing! We can all benefit from trying to make ourselves better. And I completely agree you need to learn how to make your own decisions. You NEVER do and it’s so frustrating sometimes. A lot of times, people WANT to know what you want to do. Don’t just roll over and die!

    Also, for yoga, it’s not just about flexibility, it’s also about strengthening. So don’t hate on it too much. It can help you get super strong!

    Like

    • Haha! Is it really that frustrating? Honestly, most of the time, I don’t care! 🙂 I mean I need to learn how to make bigger more life impacting decisions but I do need to work on not rolling over and dying also! Are you going to do your own version of this with me then?!?!

      I know yoga is awesome, I just really dislike it. haha! The classes at my gym are at 8pm like twice a week and then 11am on Saturdays. LAME! I gotta find a better alternative!

      Like

      • Ha maybe I will but right now I have so much homework I can’t even think.

        I know, I wish I could get into yoga but they only offer it at 8pm at my gym as well. I can afford anything else and 8pm is too damn late!

        Like

        • You have a ton of homework already and it’s only day 2? Yikes! Yeah, 8pm is way too late and yoga studios are way too expensive. wtf is a wannabe yogi to do?!?

          Like

  4. Pingback: I Might Go Into A Sugar Coma Soon… | A Couple of Dashes

  5. Pingback: Feature Friday: A Couple of Dashes | Healthy Living Blogs

  6. Pingback: A Look Back At 2014 | A Couple of Dashes

Share Your Thoughts :)

