My Go To Easy Breakfast and Dinner Ideas

Hello!

Today I wanted to share with you some of my easy go to meal ideas for breakfast and dinner. This breakfast idea is something I’ve just started making over the last couple of months, but I’ve been making different versions of this dinner recipe for years now. Both are really easy to make, tasty and healthy! That’s a win in my book! 🙂

During the work week, I struggle with finding a healthy filling breakfast that I can make at the office. I wait until the last possible minute to get out of bed, so there’s definitely no time for breakfast before I leave the house. Even though I’m usually eating breakfast on the go, I don’t like to compromise in the quality of the food I eat. I really want to be able to eat something that resembles something I would make at home on the weekends when time really isn’t an issue. This means for the most part that cereal, oatmeal, pastries and those types of breakfast options are out of the question for me. I’ve always been an eggs for breakfast kind of girl, so I had to find a way to make them on the go.

I can’t really call this breakfast idea a recipe because it only requires two ingredients: eggs and an avocado. I started packing two or three eggs in a plastic container, along with my avocado and a microwave safe container for work each morning. When I’m ready for breakfast, I just crack the eggs in a microwave safe container and pop them in the microwave until they aren’t runny anymore.

unnamed (21)

Sounds easy right? It is and that’s why I love it. I would highly recommend investing in a container that is specifically made for cooking eggs in the microwave though so your microwave doesn’t end up looking like a breakfast crime scene, like mine did the other day. 🙂

photo 2

Now on to my dinner recipe. I really like cooking, but I hate recipes that require a lot of ingredients and time to create. That’s why this dinner recipe is perfect for me. It really requires little to no thought on my part, which I like! Less is more here people!

MjAxMy03MTYzNTdjOWNlNzhjNjQ3

First, I start off with a yellow zucchini squash and a zucchini. I cut them both up into slices and then cut those in half. I cut mine into medium thickness slices, a little thicker than you would normally see cucumber slices on a veggie tray.

unnamed (16)

Then I add some sort of protein into the mix. I usually use this canned chicken from Costco. I know what you’re probably thinking… “Canned chicken?!?! Gross!” It’s actually pretty good, so don’t knock it until you try it! You could use any kind of protein you like here. You could use the precooked chicken for salads that you find at the grocery store or fresh chicken, depending on your preference. I could see this working well with certain kinds of seafood also, but I don’t like seafood AT ALL, so I’ve never tried making it that way. Try at your own risk on that one! 🙂

unnamed (17)

Then you mix in your protein of choice. I like to cook mine until everything gets a little browned. I would usually add in shredded carrots at this point also, but I forgot to add them this time for some reason. Shocking since they are my favorite part! Then you can add what ever seasonings you want. I usually use sea salt, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to mine. (Sorry for less than steller photo. The steam from the pan kind of messed everything up!)

unnamed (18)

Then at the very end, I add some small tomatoes. I usually use Cherub tomatoes, but any small tomatoes will do. Make sure to add these last when everything is already cooked almost to the point of being done. You just want to warm up the tomatoes, not cook them until they get too warm, pop and turn to mush! No one wants tomato guts all over the place!

unnamed (19)

Now you’re ready to enjoy! I’ve made this and added some avocado slices to the finished meal and it was delicious too! The best part about this meal is that you can use what ever kinds of veggies you like so it’s customizeable to please your taste buds! I also really like that this makes more than I can eat for one meal, so I have the rest for lunch the next day. Score!

unnamed (20)

 

I hope you liked my go to easy meal ideas! If you try either of these, make sure to comment below and let me know what you thought.

Questions of the Day:

What is your favorite go to meal?

Have you ever had a cooking mishap?

What are you having for dinner tonight?

Blog-Signature

Linking up to Lean Lena linkup!

One thought on “My Go To Easy Breakfast and Dinner Ideas

  1. I’ve never even seen canned chicken here in the Netherlands, but we do have tuna, so I may try your dinner idea out with that. Or leftover chicken that I’ll shred. Either way, I love the combination 🙂

    Also eggs + avocado are pretty much my favourite. Ever 🙂

    (stopping by from tasty tuesday)

    Like

Share Your Thoughts :)

