Upper Body Superset Workout

Hello All!

Welcome to Wednesday! I don’t know about you, but I’m sure glad this is a short week. The fact that as soon as we hit September 1st, it immediately turned from nice sunny days to cloudy, grey, cold and rainy is getting to me a little. What about you?

Anywhoo… I’ve been searching for a solid strength training plan for awhile now. I’m pretty good about hitting up my favorite spin classes 3+ times a week for my cardio fix, but struggle a little when it comes to putting together a plan for strength training. My current routine consists of some exercises I remembered from the days I spent sweating with my old personal trainer and other random exercises I’ve come across online or saw people doing at the gym. Probably not the best way to see results and definitely not an effective use of time.

When I was approached by one of the trainers at my new gym a few weeks ago to complete my annual assessment and workout, I gladly accepted thinking it would be a good way for me to get a refresher course on some good exercise combinations to incorporate into my routine. After spending about 30 minutes with him trying to high pressure sell me into signing a personal training contract for at least 6 months with 3 sessions a week (TALK ABOUT EXPENSIVE!), I was frustrated to say the least.

Now don’t get me wrong, if you can afford it, I think personal training is a great way to go. When I was working with a personal trainer, I found that I was motivated to work harder and was more likely to stick to my plan because I had someone checking in on me. It also takes the guess work out of your workout because someone is putting it together for you, based on what your goals are. I also saw quicker results this way, which is always a plus!

After my fiasco at the gym, I decided to get serious and do some research on my own to come up with a plan. The only problem is finding a place to start. With all the information out there, how do you determine what to use and what to toss? After thinking for a few minutes, I realized that I kept coming across the buzz word “superset” consistently in reading and conversation with fitness friends, so I started my research there.

Superset workouts cut down on time between sets and consist of alternative pairings of exercises that work opposing muscles. They are said to increase your metabolism because your heart rate stays higher throughout the workout and because the body has to work harder to recover afterwards. Research suggests that the bonus after-burn for a 140-pound woman can be up to 306 calories in the 24 hours postworkout! (Source here.)

WOW! After reading that, I decided that I needed to find some superset exercises that would meet my needs STAT. Here’s what I came up with:

upper-body-super-set-workout

Sources here and here.

I usually like to warm up with around 15 minutes on the row machine before I start this workout to help with injury prevention. Please comment below if you tried the workout and let me know what you think!

Question of the Day:

What is your favorite way to get your sweat on?

What struggles do you have when it comes to your exercise regime?

Signature

Disclaimer: I am not a certified personal trainer, nor any type of an exercise professional. All of this information is based on my own personal experience and information I found online. Please check with your doctor before starting an exercise program and always do what works best for you and your body.

Share Your Thoughts :)

